Ex- MPs Jaguar, Sabina, Waruguru and Mbadi secure parliamentary nominations

Clockwise from top: Sabina Chege, John Mbadi, Cate Waruguru and Charles Jaguar. [Standard]

Several MPs who lost their parliamentary seat bid at the nominations level have secured have a reason to smile.

UDA, Jubilee and ODM won enough seats in the August polls to nominate former MPs Sabina Chege (Murang'a County), Charles Jaguar (Starehe Constituency), Cate Waruguru (Nyandarua County) and John Mbadi (Suba East Constituency) to parliament.

President-elect William Ruto's party, UDA, will nominate five MPs out of the 12 nomination slots available which is the highest number.

UDA bagged 139 seats for members of parliament, which is the highest number of seats as compared to ODM's 82 legislators.

Ruto's party will nominate Waruguru, Jaguar, Karen Nyamu (Ex-Nairobi Aspirant) and Veronica Maina (UDA SG) for tickets to parliament.

ODM will nominate Nyamira MCA Irene Manyaka, ODM chairman John Mbadi and the party's National Elections Board chairperson Catherine Mumma, respectively.

"For purposes of Article 177(1)(b) of the Constitution, the Commission shall draw from the list under subsection (1) (e), such number of special seat members in the order given by the party, necessary to ensure that no more than two-thirds of the membership of the assembly is of the same gender.

"The Commission shall draw from the list under subsection (1) (f) four special seat members in the order given by the party," Section 36 (7) of the Elections Act reads.

The nomination slots in parliament will enable the party to dictate the parliament's agenda. For instance, the two-thirds majority allows a party, or a coalition of parties, near absolute control of the House.

It gives parties the power to approve or reject proposals for constitutional changes and to control key decisions in parliament.

Jubilee, which won 24 MP seats and three women's rep positions, will nominate outgoing Murang'a County Woman Representative Sabina Chege to parliament.

Wiper won 20 MP seats and four women's seats. As a result, it will nominate SG Abubakar Ahmed Talib. The 51-year-old businessman will represent ethnic minorities.

The ANC won six MP seats and one Woman Rep meaning it has seven members of parliament and will nominate its leader, Musalia Mudavadi's, private secretary, Kibisu Kabatesi.

Thirteen independent candidates won parliamentary seats.

Other parties: PAA (3), UPIA (4), DAP-K (5), CCM, UDM, DP, MDG, NOPEU, NAP- K, Muungano and GDDP each won one MP for parliament.

Around 14,164,651 out of the 22.01 million voters turned out to vote in elections, which represented a 64.5 per cent voter turnout.