Winners of senatorial seats so far

The Senate building. [File, Standard]

Kipchumba Murkomen has retained his Elgeyo Marakwet senate seat for the third time in Tuesday’s election. He won on a UDA ticket.

Tom Ojienda replaces Fred Outa as Kisumu Senator after he garnered 413,121 votes against his sole challenger Enos Kudi Okolo of Jubilee who got 15,575 votes. The incumbent did not defend his seat after losing the ODM party primaries to Ojienda.

Raila Odinga’s brother Oburu Oginga replaces SC James Orengo as the new Senator for Siaya County. He got 285,595 votes to beat his distant competitor Okinda Julius who got 33,898.

The National Reconstruction Alliance (NRA) party’s Okiya Omtatah has emerged victorious in the race for Busia County's Senator. Omutata garnered 171,681 votes to beat ODM's Hillary Itela for the Senate seat; Alela came second with 59,276 votes.

Outgoing Uasin Gishu governor Jackson Mandago will now be the senator of the same county. Mr Mandago managed to bag the Senate seat after garnering 252, 800 votes beating former radio presenter Robert Kemei (Independent) who got 94,875 votes.

Hillary Sigei is set to replace Christopher Andrew Langatas the senator for Bomet County.

FORD- Kenya party leader Moses Wetangula has successfully defended his seat after getting 286,143 votes in Bungoma County.

Former Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwale makes a comeback on the same post after five years in the cold.

John Methu, a political newcomer on a UDA party ticket dethroned the incumbent Nyandarua Senator Mwangi Githiomi. He garnered 158,096 votes against Githiomi’s 15, 244 votes. Githiomi contested as an independent candidate.

Moses Kajwang has defended his Homabay Senator seat for the second time. He garnered 353,882 votes against KANU’s Thomas Ojanga second with 18,690 votes. 

Godfrey Osotsi has won the Vihiga senatorial elections.

Kericho senator Aaron Cheruiyot has retained his seat after defeating two other contestants with 292, 295 votes.

In Marsabit, Mohamed Said Chute who was running for office on a UDA party ticket won the senatorial seat after garnering 41,760 votes. His closest competitor, Adan Sheikh Seller of the KANU party was second with 23,206 votes.

Danson Mungatana of UDA is now the Tana river county senator after defeating ten aspirants. He clinched the seat after gannering 34,129 votes against his close rival Hassan Dukicha (Jubilee) who scored 18082 votes