Kenya to have free elections, new US ambassador says

President Uhuru Kenyatta when he received the new US ambassador to Kenya Margaret Whitman at State House Nairobi. [PSCU]

US Ambassador to Kenya Margaret Whitman expressed confidence that the August 9 elections will be free and fair.

Speaking at State House when she presented her credentials to President Uhuru Kenyatta, ambassador Whitman said Kenya will also have a peaceful transition.

“I have no doubt Kenya will showcase for the world what free and fair election looks like and how peaceful transitions work,” she said.

She pledged to use her experience to increase bilateral trade and investment ties between the two countries, noting that Kenya is a dynamic economic engine and technology leader in East Africa.

“Before I left Washington, President Biden reminded me that one-quarter of the world’s population will reside in Africa by 2050. Pointing to Kenya’s leadership on the continent and beyond, President Biden asked me to use every tool at my disposal to deepen ties between our great nations,” she said.

President Kenyatta also received credentials from incoming other ambassadors Sebastian Groth of Germany, Kamal Gubara Mohamed of the Sudan and Bacha Debele Buta of Ethiopia.


President Uhuru Kenyatta with German ambassador Sebastian Groth. [PSCU]

Groth replaced Annett Gunther while Gubara and Debele replaced Elsadig Abdalla Elias and Meles Alem Tekea respectively.

Groth said that his country has been a close and committed partner of Kenya for decades and he is determined to develop that cooperation further.

Sudan ambassador to Kenya Kamal Gubara Mohamed. [PSCU]

On their part, Gubara and Debele pledged to work hard to ensure they succeed in enhancing the robust multifaceted diplomatic relations between Kenya and their respective countries.

Ethiopia ambassador to Kenya Bacha Debele Buta. [Twitter]

President Kenyatta assured the new ambassadors of his support as they embark on their tour of duty in the country.

He also handed over title deeds to five East African countries that were allocated land at the Naivasha Special Economic Zone. The five countries were Burundi, Rwanda, DR Congo, Uganda and South Sudan.