× Digital News Videos Opinions Cartoons Education U-Report E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian SDE Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

President Uhuru Kenyatta and Senate Speaker Kenneth Lusaka witness the signing of an agreement that handed over the functions of the Nairobi County to the National government at State House, Nairobi last week. [File, Standard]

Last week, the national government took over four county functions - health, transport, public works and planning

Nairobi residents will today begin giving their views on a decision to transfer key county functions to the national government.

In a notice published in local dailies yesterday, a public participation meeting on the transfer deal will be held at the Kenya School of Government, Lower Kabete Campus, from 9am to 1pm.

“The Nairobi City County Assembly is agreeable and partners with the Ministry of Devolution to invite residents of Nairobi City County and all members of the public to submit their views and comments on the Deed of Transfer of Functions to the Cabinet Secretary,” read part of the notice

Last week, the national government took over four county functions - health, transport, public works and planning.

SEE ALSO: President Uhuru extends curfew, lockdown by 30 days

Governor Mike Sonko and Devolution Cabinet Secretary Eugene Wamalwa signed the deed of transfer at State House witnessed by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Residents will also have an opportunity to attend ward-based forums which will take place today across the 17 sub-counties.

People in Dagoretti North will converge at Muslim Primary School, while those in Dagoretti South can give their views at the Waithaka Social Hall.

Embakasi Central residents can attend the meeting at Katole II Social Hall, while their Embakasi North counterparts will engage in public participation at the Dandora III Social Hall.

Those residing in Embakasi South can give their views at Mukuru Health Centre, Imara Daima.

SEE ALSO: Kenyans on social media plea for Uhuru to ease lockdown

Those in Embakasi East will meet at Embakasi Social Hall, and those in Embakasi West can meet at the Sub-county Administration Grounds in Umoja I.

Makadara residents will have an opportunity to present their views at Makadara Jericho Social Hall, Ruaraka residents at the Ruaraka Resource Centre, and those at Roysambu at Kahawa West market parking area.

Those in Kasarani will submit their views at Maji Mazuri. Those in Kamukunji at Eastleigh North Social Hall, Lang'ata at Karen Social Hall and Mathare at Undugu Social Hall.

Kibra residents will present their views at Joseph Kang'ethe Social Hall, Woodley Grounds.

Westlands residents will converge at Parklands Day Nursery School, while people in Starehe will meet at Kariokor Social Hall.

SEE ALSO: Forget the DP, the Judiciary is under attack

City Hall sources said the decision by Mr Sonko to surrender key county functions to the national government was considered the least disruptive of the options available in addressing the county crisis .

Other options were the dissolution of the county or Sonko's impeachment.

Nairobi residents Lower Kabete Campus Governor Mike Sonko President Uhuru Kenyatta

Read More