× Digital News Videos Opinions Cartoons Education U-Report E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian SDE Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

The motion to impeach Waititu was tabled by Ndenderu MCA Solomon Kinuthia on grounds of abuse of office and gross misconduct.

Embattled Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu (pictured) will soon know his fate with the Senate reconvening on January 21 to discuss his impeachment motion.

This follows the collection of signatures from 15 senators – the number needed to call a special sitting to hear and determine the petition.

Senate Majority Leader Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet) said they had the requisite numbers, adding that the Senate will decide to hear the petition as a whole House or go the committee route.

Special committee

SEE ALSO: Please help rebuild our ‘peace school’ after floods havoc

And should the House form a special committee, the team will table its report in the House in 10 days with recommendations on whether he should leave office or continue serving as governor after ward representatives passed a vote to send him parking.

The move comes even as Mr Waititu wrote a letter to the Senate, saying his impeachment was unlawful as there was no quorum during the proceedings.

In the letter addressed to Senate Speaker Kenneth Lusaka, Waititu said there were only 57 MCAs present during the motion which required a majority of 62.

Through his lawyer Ndegwa Njiru, the governor further said the special session was adjourned prematurely contrary to the standing orders. He said that at the time of his impeachment 35 Ward reps were absent, questioning how the Speaker arrived at 63 votes supporting the impeachment.

Impeachment cases

Waititu is the sixth governor to be impeached. Embu Governor Martin Wambora has been impeached twice by the County Assembly and the decision held by the Senate. The impeachment was, however, overturned by court.

SEE ALSO: 40 families homeless after another landslide

Governors Granton Samboja (Taita Taveta), Prof Paul Chepkwony (Kericho), Mwangi Wa Iria (Muranga), the late Nderitu Gachagua (Nyeri) were all impeached by the assemblies, but the decisions were overturned by the Senate and courts.

The motion to impeach Waititu was tabled by Ndenderu MCA Solomon Kinuthia on grounds of abuse of office and gross misconduct.

Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu Senate Majority Leader Kipchumba Murkomen Elgeyo Marakwet

Read More