Chaos as group from Kibra is locked out of Ruto meeting

A section of wananchi outside official residence of Deputy President William Ruto in Karen on October 8. [Collins Kweyu]

A group of youth yesterday caused drama outside Deputy President William Ruto’s official residence after they were reportedly denied entry.

The nearly 100 youth were said to have been ferried from Kibra to Karen on motorbikes, with the hope of attending a meeting Ruto had with some members of the Abagusii community.

The DP is said to have been meeting the delegation to discuss how it could support Jubilee candidate McDonald Mariga in the November 7 by-election.

Hell broke loose when the youth arrived only to be told they could not be allowed into the compound.

SEE ALSO :Seven-year presidential term sparks controversy

They began shouting, as they demanded to be allowed in, forcing police to hurl teargas canisters to disperse them.

The rioters turned to a fence near the DP’s residence and destroyed it. Some used stones to barricade a road nearby before police moved in to contain the situation.

Soon after, they started chanting slogans in support of the ODM candidate in the Kibra by-election, Bernard Imran Okoth.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.

“We were invited here for a meeting but they have blocked us from entering the compound. Why don’t they want us to attend the meeting?” one of the youth said. 

One of the organisers of the meeting told The Standard the youth were locked out because they arrived late. “Police closed gates immediately Ruto started addressing the congregation. Some of our supporters were still streaming in when leaders were speaking, but when Ruto rose to speak, the gates had to be closed. That is how the small team began to riot,” he said.

SEE ALSO :Ruto’s best option is to stand up and fight hard

The delegation was led by Kisii Deputy Governor Joash Maangi, Nominated Senator Millicent Omanga, MPs Sylivanus Osoro, (South Mugirango), Mathias Robi, (Kuria West), Shadrack Mose, (Kitutu Masaba), Joash Nyamoko, (North Mugirango), Vincent Kemosi, (West Mugirango) and Alfa Miruka (Bomachoge Chache).

“We assured the DP and Mariga of our support ahead of the November 7 by-election,” Maangi told The Standard.

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Deputy President William RutoMcDonald MarigaJubileeKibra