Raila Odinga set to unveil ODM Kibra aspirants

Opposition leader Raila Odinga (pictured) will today unveil prospective candidates to replace the late Ken Okoth as Kibra’s Member of Parliament. Raila has invited party supporters and voters to the rally, where he will introduce to the constituency those interested.

“The party leader will present the candidates who have applied for the ODM ticket at Kamukunji grounds today,” said Dennis Onyango.?

The aspirants will be given time to articulate their agenda for the constituency in an attempt to gain early favour before the race begins.

The Orange party, which is seen as likely to retain the seat has a taunting task of picking a candidate from a long list of about 20 candidates seeking to be nominated to contest for Kibra Constituency.

Kibra is considered one of the major strongholds of ODM since Raila served as MP at a time the area was still under Langata Constituency. In 2017, Raila’s daughter Rosemary Odinga expressed interest in the seat but later withdrew from the race.

The family of the late MP suggested to Raila to consider a member from Ken Okoth’s family to take over, hence fronting Imran Okoth as forerunner.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.  

Other aspirants include gender expert Sigar Agumba, who is currently Kibra organising secretary for ODM, party’s National Youth Coordinator Benson Musungu and MP Okoth’s personal secretary Samuel Ogweno Othoo.

Two women have also expressed interest in the post, including Melvin Moraa (ODM) and Ukweli party’s Editar Ochieng, founder of the Feminist for Peace Rights and Justice Centre. Others include Toi Ogola, Brian Owino, Obaricks Ochieng, John Milla, Anyinga Junior, Patrick Lumumba, Faiz Ochieng and Mohamed Gore, all seeking ODM ticket.

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Get the latest summary of news in your email every morning. Subscribe below

* indicates required
Kibra electionsODMRaila Odinga