Jubilee’s Ahmed Kolosh wins Wajir West election

Wajir West MP-elect Ahmed Kolosh address journalists after being declared the winner of the mini-poll at Griftu Pastoral Center. [Phillip Orwa, Standard]
Jubilee’s Ahmed Kolosh, the former area MP, has won the Wajir West parliamentary by-election.

Kolosh won the race characterised by above-average voter turnout with 11,053 votes against Kanu's Sheikh Ibrahim's 6,532 votes.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission said 17,606 votes were cast – recording over 60 per cent turnout.

The constituency had 75 polling stations and 27,544 registered voters.

The contest was reduced to a two-horse race, between Kolosh and Mohammed, after other candidates withdrew.

Earlier this month, ODM’s candidate Mohamed Yusuf withdrew in favour of Jubilee’s Kolosh.

The seat fell vacant following a successful petition by Sheikh Ibrahim at the Supreme Court.

We are undertaking a survey to help us improve our content for you. This will only take 1 minute of your time, please give us your feedback by clicking HERE. All responses will be confidential.

Ahmed KoloshSheikh IbrahimWajir West by-electionJubilee party