× Digital News Videos Opinions Cartoons Education U-Report E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS
Former MP Irshad Sumra (right) addresses residents of Mukuru kwa Reuben in Nairobi on Sunday, March 31 2019, as he drums up support for the Embakasi South parliamentary seat by-election slated for April 05. With him is ODM Secretary General Edwin Sifuna (centre) and Makadara MP George Aldwa [David Njaaga,Standard]
Constituents of Embakasi South will today elect their preferred representative in the National Assembly.

There are 15 candidates cleared and listed by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to contest.

The position fell vacant after the Supreme Court revoked Julius Mawathe's win.

The petition was filed by Orange Democratic Movement candidate Sumra Irshad.

SEE ALSO: Raila returns to Kenya quietly after three-week medical stay in Dubai

Yesterday, IEBC dispatched heavily guarded polling materials to 221 polling stations after a brief training exercise for election observers.

There was calm, with residents expressing confidence that the by-election will be peaceful.

Besides Sumra, and Wiper's Mawathe, there is Rameshchandra Gorasia, the owner of Taj Mall in Embakasi South Constituency, which was demolished last year.

Mr Gorasia is riding on sympathy votes from some supporters after losing his mall, which the Government claimed was built on a road reserve.

Ramesh back again

SEE ALSO: ODM leaders warn locals against ignoring Covid-19 containment measures

Gorasia had unsuccessfully vied for the Nairobi senatorial position in the 2017 General Election.

Roseline Ochuka of MTP, Urbanus Kaveva (PNU), Augustine Kavindu (GCK), Samuel Masaki (FPK) and Zablon Minyonga (KNC) are also in the race.

Alexander Mulatya (MCC), Jairus Musyoka (GDDP), Enosh Nyakweba (KSC), Agnes Nyalita (TAK), Enock Nyaribari (RLP), Peter Ogeta (PDU) and Nyamwange Oigara (JFP) have also been listed as contestants by IEBC. [Michael Chepkwony]

Embakasi South Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission IEBC ODM
Share this story

Read More