Seven women land top police command in new line up

Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang'i (left) chats with Inspector General of Police Joseph Boinnet (second right) at the Flamingo PrideInn Beach Resort in Mombasa, yesterday. [Gideon Maundu, Standard]
Seven women were yesterday named as county police commanders in a lineup unveiled in Mombasa.

Naomi Ichami will be stationed in Bomet County, Leah Ngutu in Kirinyaga, Beatrice Gachago in Kajiado, Lydia Ligami (Kitui), Adan Hassan Yunis (Narok), Esther Seroney (Homa Bay) and Wilkister Vera (Kakamega).

The county commanders, together with the earlier unveiled regional commanders and regional commissioners, will today meet President Uhuru Kenyatta for a briefing. The President is expected to set his security agenda at the meeting.

The Kenya Police Service (KPS) got 24 slots, the Administration Police Service (APS) 17 while the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI) got five.

SEE ALSO :Matiang’i intensifies war on betting firms

Nairobi has a new head of operations, Jackson Tumwet. He will work under Philip Ndolo.

Other commanders named include Adiel Nyange (Kiambu), Joseph Nthenge (Migori), Johnson Ipara (Mombasa), Francis Sang (Bungoma), James Mugera (Kericho), Dr Gideon Ngumi (Nyandarua), Perminus Nyaga (Lamu), Ayub Gitonga (Trans Nzoia), Joseph Napeiyan (Makueni) and Hassan Barua (Vihiga).

Tana River

Patrick Okeri goes to Kilifi, Fred Ochieng (Tana River), Ali Nuno (Nyeri), Stephene Ngetich (Wajir), Augustine Nthumbi (Uasin Gishu), Tom Odero (Kwale), Mathew Kuto (West Pokot), Josphat Kinyua (Murang’a), Martin Kibet (Kisii), Danie Rukunga (Embu), Charles Mbatu (Tharaka Nithi), Patrick Ombura (Meru), Maxwel Nyaema (Laikipia) and Joseph Kigen (Isiolo).

Benson Maweu will go to Kisumu, John Muiruri (Samburu), Francis Kooli (Siaya), Samuel Ndanyi (Turkana), Jeremiah Kassiom (Mandera), Robinson Ndiwa (Baringo), John Nyoike (Busia), Alfred Ageng’o (Garissa), Said Kiprotich (Taita Taveta), Stephen Matu (Nakuru), Mohamed Maalim (Machakos), Steven Oloo (Marsabit), Ken Kimani (Marakwet) and Thomas Ngeiywa (Nandi).

SEE ALSO :MPs want teachers armed over insecurity

The changes began with the collapsing of parallel command structures of the same rank for the APS, KPS and DCI.

The service has been having Assistant Inspector General (AIGs) of the same rank as commanders for regional APS, KPS and DCI commands; Commissioners of Police as county commanders for APS, KPS and DCI and Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) at the sub-county level.

All hierarchy has been removed and there is one senior commander at all levels. The rest are a rank lower than the commander.

Although there will still be senior DCI officers at all levels of command, they will be one rank below their General Duty Commander.

For the latest news in entertainment check out and , for everything sports visit and ladies we have you covered on Evewoman

Fred Matianginational police servicejoseph boinnet