Golf: Kenya Open new series starts with a bang in Mombasa

Joyce Kamau makes a swing during the Inaugral Kenya Open Golf Limited Safari Tour at Nyali in Mombasa County on Saturday,018th August,2018.[Maarufu Mohamed,Standard]
Nyali’s Kamau draws first blood at Safari tour

Nyali Golf Club lady golfer scoops top accolade in inaugural Pro-Am tournament aimed at improving locals ahead of Kenya Open.

Joyce Kamau carded an excellent score of 41 stable ford points to emerge the overall winner of the Kenya Open Inaugural Pro-Am Safari Tour golf tournament played at the par 71 Nyali Golf and Country Club in Mombasa.

Playing off handicap 24 on Saturday, Kamau used home advantage to hole five level pars against seven bogeys  and six double bogeys in both nines to claim the victory and register her biggest win over a couple of years.

“I’m honoured to be the winner of this first tourney. I came focused for the game and the result has turned out to be the best ever for me,” said Kamau.

Club mates handicap 28 Sanjay Kotecha on a count back score of 40 points was the Men winner after tying with Men runner up handicap 11 Martin Wahome fondly called ‘Father of Champions’.

Handicap 19 Truphena Oyaro also from the club was the Lady winner on 39 points and taking the Lady runner up slot was club mate handicap 16 Teresia Odoo with 34 points.

Windsor’s home professional Rizwan Charania led his Amateurs combined team of Said Bajaber, Justin Kaburu  and  Riazalibhai to claim the team winner Pro-Am category  on a round total of  82 points.

Sigona’s Charles Wangai and his team of Lemmy Kaburu, Pauline Gichara and William Kaguta on 81 points were the runners up.

Kenya open golf limited (KOGL) Chairman Peter Kanyango (left) presents a prize to Joyce Kamau who was the Amateur win during the Inaugral Kenya Open Golf Limited Safari Tour at Nyali in Mombasa County on Saturday,018th August,2018.[Maarufu Mohamed,Standard]
Taking the third slot with 79 points were Muthaiga’s Greg Snow with his team of Paul Krijnen,Joseph Oluoch and  Nimisha Shah.

Kenya Open Golf Limited (KOGL) organised  the 18 holes tourney that was  graced by the Mombasa County Governor Hassan Joho, Speaker Aharub Khatri, Kenya Open Tournament Director Patrick Obath and among  others  the KOGL Chairman  Peter  Kanyango.

Thirty Kenyan professionals yesterday embarked on their  three days hunt for the Sh1 million prize kitty which ends tomorrow where club captain Taib Bajaber  thanked the Organisers  for  choosing his  club  for  hosting the first led  and  assured the golfers of an enjoyable play  at the course.

Kanyago said the tour launched at Karen Last Monday is a nationwide seven golf series featuring golf professionals playing for a prize kitty of Sh.1 million in each event.

He said club members, invited elite amateurs and elite juniors will also play where the winners will be awarded with various prizes.

“The Series is  aimed  at  preparing the Professionals into  next year’s Kenya Open Championships, which has now  attained a European Tour status with an  increased prize kitty of Euros 1.1 Million (Sh126 m) double of last year’s kitty.




Men winner-Job Kabochi-42pts,Men runners up-Joe Sang-41pts,Men third-Gilbert Maina-40-pts,Lady winner-Eunice Maranya-37pts,Lady runner up-Margaret Thande-35pts,Staff winner-Jeremy Ngunze-35pts,Team winner-PWC-Job Kabochi,Tim Siloma, Kange Saiti & Edward Kerich-105pts,Best 1st nine-                Collins Too-22pts,Best 2nd nine-Brian Changangu-21pts,Longest drive men-Tom Mulwa,Longest drive lady-Patricia Ithau,Nearest to the Pin-George Kirathe;



Men winner-Peter Munyi (15)-38pts,Men runner up-Wanjohi Kangangi (7)-37pts,Men third            Jackson Ongubo (11)-36pts,Lady winner-Florence Marangu (33)-38pts,Lady runner up-Patricia Ngina              (22)-36pts,Guest winner-Salim Sorathia (13)-37pts,1st nine-Ali Thobani-19pts C/B,2nd nine-Nancy-19pts C/B,Senior winner-S.N.Mwaura (20)-35pts,Junior winner-Michael Icharia-32pts C/B;

Kenya Railways;

Club Championships;

Overall gross winner-Antony Mwaura-153gross,Gross runners up-A.Nyambuto Omooria-160gross,gross third-James Kamenchu-161gross,Overall nett winner-Ken Mburu-139nett,Nett runners up-George Njuguna-147nett,Nett Third-Samuel Gakere-148nett,Overall caddy winner-Steven Mbithi-155gross,Caddy runners up-Mike Sila-159gross;

Winners round one;

Gross winner-Paul Orawo-80gross,Nett winner-Njau Kungu-70nett,Lady winner-Jane Alice Mutuota-76nett,Lady runners up-Shelmith Muraguru-78nett,Guest winner-R.S.Njiru-80nett;

Winners round two;

Gross winner-John Lejirma-77nett, Nett winner-Su Biquin-77nett,Lady winner-Eunice Wairimu-76nett,Guest winner-Antony Wahome-70nett;


Vivo Energy;

Overall winner-Mathew Wambugu (26)-42pts,Men winner-Joel Githanda (15)-40pts C/B, runners up-Richard Kabugi (15)-40pts, Lady winner-Pauline Miriga (33)-35pts,Lady runners up-Eng. Jesinta (31)-34pts,Staff winner-Joseph Kahuko (21)-34pts, 1st nine-Dr.Mate (12)-23pts,2nd nine-Andrew Muruiki (14)-21pts,Longest drive men- Mwangi Gathu,Longest drive lady-Wambui Kimathi,Guest winner-James Wakibia (24)-37pts,Nearest to pin-Stella Mwangi (05),Best Effort-Fr.Herman Kiboi (28)-16pts;

Thika Sports;

August 2018 monthly Mug;

Division A winner-David Matano (05)-68nett,Runners up-Paul Nduati (05)-74nett,Division B winner- Dennis Gakuo (13)-63nett,Runners up-Nicholas Kabare (17)-68nett,Division C winner-M.Shiota (24)- 69nett,Runners up-S.G.Njuguna  (21)-69nett,Lady winner-Anastasia Karimi (24)-66nett,Lady runner up- Winnie Mugo (28)-68nett,Guest winner-John Kihoro (20)-73nett;

Master Score board results;

Vet Lab;


Overall winner-Elijah Mbole (23)-Vet-42pts, Runners up-Bernard Mandere (21)-Vet-42pts, Third-Rachel Ndei (20)-Vet-42pts;



Overall winner-Dr.Mathew Koech (17)-Eldoret-43pts, Runners up-Parit Sanghrajka (09)-Eldoret-42pts, Third-faith Mburu (25)-Eldoret-41pts;


UNFCU Foundation fundraiser;

Overall winner-Rachel Lofty (33)-Karen-42pts, Runners up-Edgar Mokua (22)-Royal-41pts, Third-Kungu Gatabaki (17)-Royal-39pts;



Overall winner-J.Bore (28)-Nandi-65nett, Runners up-Peter Mungai (12)-Limuru-66nett, Third-Don Mercer (24)-Limuru-66nett;

Great Rift Valley;

August 2018 Mug;

Overall winner-Simon Kiarie (18)-Great Rift-38pts,Runners up-Stephen Gichari-Caddie (02)-Great Rift-36 pts,Third-Stephen Njoroge (11)-Great Rift-36pts;


K-Link  Health care Products;

Overall winner-Grace Kibe (20)-Kiambu-66nett, Runners up-Joseph Kimangi (19)-Kiambu-71nett, Third-David Kimani (12)-Kiambu-72nett;



Overall winner-Fred Kilonzi (13)-Machakos-39pts, Runners up-Jackson Nzioka (05)-Machakos-38pts, Third-Dr.Mbandi (26)-Machakos-38pts;

We are undertaking a survey to help us improve our content for you. This will only take 1 minute of your time, please give us your feedback by clicking HERE. All responses will be confidential.

Kenya Open Golf LimitedMombasa County