Laiser Hill have one hand on the 7's trophy

Laiser Hill's Tutu Gikonyo from Kajiado County is Challenged by Derrick Wandera (left) of Nairobi during Kenya Secondary Schools Sports Term 1 National games at Embu University grounds. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]
Laiser Hill stand a match away from winning the 2018 Brookside East Africa Secondary Schools rugby sevens title.

Yesterday, the Kenyan champions continued their smooth run as they posted wins against Rwanda’s ASPEKA and Uganda’s Mbarara to keep their unbeaten record. Laiser Hill have ruled Busogo University rugby pitch in Musanze and they stand out as the only unbeaten team as this year’s sevens challenge enters final day tomorrow.  They beat homeboys ASPEKA 19-10 before drubbing Mbarara 41-0 in their second match.

They will meet last year’s silver medalists Jinja Secondary School from Uganda in their final round robin match. A victory against the Ugandans is all the 2015 and 2017 East Africa rugby 15' champions need to win the sevens crown.

Laiser Hill captain Clinton Kioko remained confident saying they had come along way. “We have come a long way and worked hard in all our matches and now that we have one hand on the trophy. We are determined to complete the job. This title is the best reward for our hard work and we are all set to end it well,” Kioko said.

SEE ALSO :Laiser Hill launch title defence against hosts Aga Khan

Laiser Hill top the standings with 15 points from five matches while their closest challenger St Peter’s Mumias are second with 13. St Peters, who lost the battle to reclaim the regional title they had won in 2016, have played all their matches and are likely to secure a podium finish. Chavakali are second with ten points from four matches while ASPEKA are fifth with nine. Chavakali will be looking to win their remaining two matches against Mbarara and ASPEKA to win silver.

For the latest news in entertainment check out and , for everything sports visit and ladies we have you covered on Evewoman

Laiser Hill2018 Brookside East Africa Secondary Schoolsrugby sevens title