Security heighted at Bomas ahead of re-run poll final results announcement

IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati
The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) will declare the winner of the repeat presidential election at 3:30 pm Kenya time.

So far, results from 266 out of 290 constituencies have been received and verified by the IEBC.  

The Bomas of Kenya is currently a beehive of activity. Deputy President William Ruto and several Jubilee leaders have already arrived at the national tallying centre.

Based on IEBC numbers, Jubilee Party presidential candidate Uhuru Kenyatta is leading with over 7 million votes. The National Super Alliance (NASA) presidential candidate withdrew from the repeat poll on October 10. 

SEE ALSO :IEBC lays ground for boundary review

IEBC will declare the results without results from 25 constituencies where voting did not take place as NASA supporters heeded Raila’s call to shun the October 26 repeat poll.

Chebukati said the presidential results will be declared based on verified forms 34As and 34Bs being delivered at Bomas of Kenya physically by returning officers. Legally, IEBC is required to declare results within seven days. The deadline is on Wednesday. 

Supreme court ruling

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.  

In September, the Supreme Court of Kenya ruled that the August 8 election was invalid because it did not meet the required legal standards. A repeat presidential election was ordered.  The National Super Alliance, however, declined to take part in the repeat election unless IEBC effected reforms it termed as irreducible minimums.

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Get the latest summary of news in your email every morning. Subscribe below

* indicates required
iebcdeclarationuhuru kenyattarepeat electionsRaila Odingawafula chebukati