Matatus to be barred from accessing Nairobi CBD in Gazette Notice

Traffic congestion along Nairobi's Accra road. (Photo: Courtesy)

Nairobi County Government has in a Gazette Notice provided new rules that will bar Public Service Vehicles (PSVs) from accessing the Nairobi CBD.

In the new rules which will take effect from next week on Wednesday (20/09/17), the county government has made changes to the omnibus termini and routes within the city.

Routes accessing the CBD from Waiyaki Way, Uhuru Highway, Kipande Road and Limuru road will be stationed at Murang'a Road (Fig Tree) terminus A.

All routes accessing the CBD from Thika Road, Kiambu Road and Ruiru will be at Murang'a Road (Fig Tree) terminus B.

All vehicles using Juja Road, Ring Road and Park Road to access CBD will park at Ngara Road Terminus.

PSVs using Jogoo road and Lusaka road will park at Muthurwa Terminus whereas those from Ngong Road will park at Railway terminus.

Other termini include Desai Service Road Terminus, Park Road Terminus, Hakati Terminus, Machakos terminus and the Central Bus Station.

In May, the county government under former Governor Evans Kidero moved to ban all PSVs from accessing the CBD after it was accused of failing to deal with traffic congestion.

The Matatu Owners Association through its Chair Simon Kimutai, however, indicated that Kidero’s team had not involved them in drafting the regulations.


The Gazette notice:

Gazette Notice NO 4479 (Photo: Courtesy)


The Standard
Celebrate Easter in style with our KES999 annual offer