Governors to elect Salim Mvurya as chairman

Kwale Governor Salim Mvurya has been tipped to be the next Council of Governors chairman. Photo: Boniface Okendo, Standard
Governors elected on a Jubilee ticket and its affiliates have agreed to elect Kwale Governor Salim Mvurya as the Council of Governors chairman.

Mr Mvurya, who ditched the opposition in the run up to elections, had previously served as deputy chairman of the CoG for two terms. Jubilee controls a majority of the counties.

At a meeting with the governors, President Uhuru Kenyatta said the council is supposed to play an important role in managing the affairs of devolution.

President Kenyatta regretted that the past five years were marred by confusion, which was mostly created by those who served as chairs of the CoG.

SEE ALSO :CBK: Deadline for return of old notes fixed on stone

"We have been elected on a shared platform. Let us work together for the betterment of our people," said Uhuru at State House, Nairobi.

The President said good inter-governmental relations between counties and the national government would benefit all Kenyans.

"I am asking that this time we start on the right foot. Let us not be people who engage in confrontation. Do not make the Council of Governor a venue for competition; make it truly a venue for developing issues for consultation," he said.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.

Deputy President William Ruto said Kenyans had given Jubilee Party an overwhelming mandate.

"We have increased our numbers because the people trust Jubilee with devolution. That was a clear mandate," said the DP.

SEE ALSO :Governor Mvurya put to task over Sh1.6 billion ‘fake’ pending bills

He said 62 per cent of governors were affiliated to Jubilee, which also controls 54 per cent of Senate and 61 per cent of the National Assembly.

"We in Jubilee believe in devolution. We are going to transform this country through devolution," he said. Earlier, President Kenyatta chaired a Jubilee Parliament Group meeting where the party agreed on the leadership in Parliament. 

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Salim MvuryaCouncil of GovernorsJosphat Nanok