Next Story
You are here  » Home   » Politics

Raila Odinga addresses supporters in Kibra, calls for work boycott on Monday

By Waweru Titus | Published Sun, August 13th 2017 at 15:18, Updated August 13th 2017 at 16:02 GMT +3
NASA Principals Leaders led by Raila Odinga address a press conference on August 9, 2017 in Nairobi, after Kenya's General Election. PHOTO JOHN MUCHUCHA

Opposition leader Raila Odinga has said that the National Super Alliance (NASA) will announce the next move on Tuesday, August 15 after disputing election results released by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) on Friday night.

Raila, flanked by Siaya Senator-elect James Orengo and Kibra MP-elect Ken Okoth accused the Government of spearheading police brutality in NASA strongholds.

Raila also asked residents to boycott work tomorrow (Monday) until the Government withdraws KDF and police from the city.


Stay informed while on the go by subscribing to the Standard Group SMS service. Text the word 'NEWS' to 22840.

The chairman of IEBC Wafula Chebukati, while declaring the presidential results on Friday, said that President Uhuru Kenyatta had garnered 8,203,290 votes, representing 54.27 per cent of the votes cast, while the Opposition leader, Odinga came in second with 6,762,224 votes, representing 44.74 per cent of the votes cast.

“I, therefore, wish to declare Hon Uhuru Kenyatta the President-elect and Hon William Ruto as the Deputy-President-elect,” Chebukati said before handing the winners’ certificates to the two.

In total, 15,073,662 people cast their votes, representing 78.91 per cent of the registered voters, an increase from the 2013 polls.

The President-elect also got more than 25 per cent of the votes cast in 35 counties, compared to Raila who managed to get over 25 per cent in 29 counties.

In his acceptance speech, Uhuru reached out to his closest rival, Raila, and urged him to work together with the Government.

“To our worthy competitor, we are not enemies. In every competition there shall be winners and losers. I extend a hand of partnership, of cooperation. This country needs all of us to succeed and Kenyans want it to succeed. I reach out to you, to all your supporters and to all those elected to the opposition bench. We shall work together to build this nation,” said the President.

The other candidates had less than one per cent of the votes cast. Mr Joseph Nyaga got 42,259 votes, Mr Abduba Dida got 38,093 votes, Dr Ekuru Aukot 27,311, Mr Japheth Kaluyu got 16,482, Prof Michael Wainaina got 13,257 while Cyrus Jirongo got 11,705.

Would you like to get published on Standard Media websites? You can now email us breaking news, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: [email protected]