Jubilee nominates 11 legislators to lead talks on IEBC stalemate

Anti-IEBC protests in Nairobi

Jubilee has nominated 11 legislators led by senator Kiraitu Murungi as members of Joint Parliamentary Committee tasked with resolving IEBC stalemate.

They include Meru Senator Kiraitu Murungi, Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen, Nominated Senator Beatrice Elachi, Nominated Senator Fatuma Dullo, Runyenjes MP Cecile Mbarire, Taveta MP Naomi Shaaban, Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria and Kitutu Chache North MP Jimmy Angweyi .

Others are Mumias East MP Benjamin Jomo Washiali, Mandera West MP Mohammed Mahmoud and Narok woman representative Soipan Tuya.

This comes a few days after President Uhuru Kenyatta said the government is ready to solve the IEBC impasse that had caused loss of lives during CORD protests.

The opposition leaders  have been pushing for the disbandment of IEBC, saying it has lost its credibility.

CORD had already released a list of members for talks with jubilee over the IEBC impasse. They are Siaya Senator James Orengo, Machakos senator Johnstone  Muthama, Tongaren MP Eseli Simiyu, Suna East's Junet Mohammed and Mombasa woman representative Mishi Mboko.