President Uhuru Kenyatta reshuffles cabinet, increases ministries and state departments

President Uhuru Kenyatta reshuffled his cabinet Tuesday and named former assistant minister Mwangi Kiunjuri to the docket of Planning and Devolution as Kericho Senator Charles Keter appointed to Energy docket.

Malindi MP Dan Kazungu was appointed Cabinet Secretary Mining as Jacob Kaimenyi moved from Education to Lands and his docket taken by Fred Matiang’i who was moved from ministry of ICT.

The full list of nominees is  Mwangi Kiunjuri (Devolution and Planning), Dan Kazungu (Mining), Willy Bett  (Agriculture) Cecille Karimi Kariuki (Public Service, Sports and Youth) Joe Mucheru (ICT), Charles Keter (Energy), Cleophas Mwinzi (Health), Judi Wangalwa Wakhungu ( Environment, and Natural Resources), Eugene Wamalwa (Water), Henry Rotich (Treasury), Hassan Wario (Sports), Fred Matiang'i (Education), James Macharia (Transport),Joseph Nkaisserry ( Interior), Amina Mohammed (Foreign Affairs), Najib Balala (Tourism), Phylis Kandie (Labour), Rachel Omamo (Defence), Prof Jacob Kaimenyi (Lands), Adan Mohammed (Industrialisation) and Githu Muigai for Attorney General.

The President has called  for fast tracking of vetting and approval of new cabinet nominees for cabinet to allow efficiency of public service. 

He said the changes aim at enhancing service delivery in the public sector. He said more ministries would allow cabinet secretaries to focus better on their deliverables and drive the economic growth of the country.

The President also said he would announce the reorganisation of the executive office of the president within the next two weeks to further the government's agenda to serve.