Today's Paper
You are here  » Home   » Kenya

Landslide victory for Ferdinand Waititu in Kabete by election

By Japhet Ruto | Published Mon, May 4th 2015 at 21:15, Updated May 4th 2015 at 23:21 GMT +3
JAP candidate Ferdinand Waititu (photo: standard)

JAP’s Ferdinand Ndung’u Waititu is the new MP elect for Kabete constituency after garnering over 90% of the total votes cast. Waititu beat his closest challenger George Mungai Waiguru an independent candidate by over 20,000 votes.

Waititu garnered 24,228 votes against Waiguru’s 268 votes with Newton Njenga  (NVP) coming a distant third with 241 votes.  He was followed by John Wamagata (Safina), Wilson Karanja Kamau (ODM), Kavore Kariuki (Narc Kenya), Paul Wariuki (PPK), Kiriko wa Ngugi and Isaiah Ndirangu respectively.

Waititu is now set to succeed the late George Muchai who was assasinated alongside his bodyguards and driver on February 7th 2015 in Nairobi’s Central business district.

Only two aspirants, Ngugi and Njenga, are registered voters in the constituency and hence took part in the voting process with the rest not eligible to vote.

A few cases of voter bribery claims were reported in some polling stations with turn out percentage standing at 41%.



Avoid becoming a victim of Fake News. Subscribe to the Standard Group SMS service by texting 'NEWS' to 22840.

Would you like to get published on Standard Media websites? You can now email us breaking news, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: [email protected]