Where top Western leaders are expected to vote on August 9

COTU Secretary-General Francis Atwoli. [Esther Jeruto, Standard]


Roots Party presidential candidate Prof George Wajackoyah is among key politicians expected at their rural homes to cast their votes on August 9, 2022.

Speaking to the Standard, Prof Wajackoyah said he will cast his ballot at his native Kakamega County in Indangalasia Primary School.

Prof Wajackoyah said he is confident of pulling a surprise in the presidential election and urged his supporters across the country to turn out in large numbers to vote.

“Many people have been asking about my voting station, I will be at Indangalasia,” said Prof Wajackoyah.

Amani National Congress (ANC) leader Musalia Mudavadi is expected to return to vote at Mululu Primary School, a stone's throw away from his Mululu rural home in Vihiga County.

Mudavadi registered as a voter at the village in 1989 when he first vied for Sabatia parliamentary seat.

ANC leader Musalia Mudavadi. [Wilberforce Okwiri, Standard]

Also voting in Vihiga is long-serving politician George Khaniri who was first elected in 1997.

Senator Khaniri will be casting his ballot at Kapsotik Primary in Hamisi constituency as he seeks to unseat the incumbent, Governor Wilber Ottichillo.

Ottichillo, on the other hand, will be casting his ballot at Emanyinya Primary School.

In Bungoma, Ford Kenya leader Moses Wetang’ula will cast his vote at Namakhele Primary school. Wetang’ula is defending his Bungoma senator seat.

Mapera Primary School in Webuye East constituency is where Senate Speaker Kenneth Lusaka will seek to recapture the Bungoma governor's seat.

In Kakamega, COTU boss Francis Atwoli is expected to vote at Ebukwala Primary School in Khwisero constituency.

Kakamega gubernatorial candidate and former Ketraco boss Fernandes Barasa (ODM) will cast his ballot at Bulimbo Primary School in Matungu.

Fernandes Barasa. [Benjamin Sakwa, Standard]

His main challenger, Senator Cleophas Malala of ANC, is expected to vote at the iconic Bukhungu Stadium.

Governor Wycliffe Oparanya, on the other hand, is expected to cast his vote at Mabole Primary school.

In Busia, governor hopeful Paul Otuoma, who is vying on an ODM ticket, is expected to cast his vote at Bunadi Primary School in Samia, Funyula constituency, where he formerly served as MP.

Dr Otuoma is seeking to succeed the incumbent, Sospeter Ojaamong, who is vying for the Teso South MP seat for the third time.

Ojaamong is expected to vote at Township Primary School in Teso South where he registered as a voter in 1997.

Nambale MP Sakwa Bunyasi (ANC), who is eyeing the Busia governor seat, is expected to cast his vote at Madende Primary School near his home.