× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

ODM picks former MP Were for Matungu by-election

By Brian Kisanji | January 6th 2021

The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) has settled on David Were as its candidate for the Matungu by-election. 

Were was handed a direct ticket by the Orange party, a move that has not gone down well with rivals who have vowed not to support him in the March 4 mini-poll.

According to ODM Secretary General Edwin Sifuna, the former legislator was awarded the party ticket after meeting set requirements.

In Were, Sifuna said the party had a strong candidate with the capacity to clinch the seat that fell vacant after the death of Justus Murunga on November 14, last year.

Were (pictured) will now face ANC candidate Peter Nabulindo and about 10 independent candidates, including Benard Wakoli who decamped from Ford Kenya after the party leadership withdrew from the race in support of the ANC candidate.

Were served as the MP for Matungu from 2002 to 2017 when he lost to Murunga.

He vied on Jubilee party ticket in 2017, having fallen out with the Orange party leadership.

Paul Achayo, a newcomer, clinched the ODM ticket but performed dismally after a section of voters branded him an 'outsider' from neighbouring Butere constituency.

Achayo ditched ODM two weeks ago, accusing the party of resorting to undemocratic tendencies.

Daddy's Girl: Journey on being raised by single father
He says she will tell her own story. He wants to tell his, and that of his daughter.
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...
Share this story