× Digital News Videos Opinions Cartoons Education U-Report E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS
By Phillip Orwa

Former Amsterdam champ  and twice world cross country Athlete Magdalene Chemjor, braved hot and sunny weather to emerge winner in the Kisumu International Marathon sponsored by Safaricom by clocking 2:31:12.

Chemjor’s time was a new course record shaving off massive eight minutes from what Irene Mogaka (2:38:00) last year.

“The course was tough, there were so many laps and corners but I managed to sail through,” said Chemjor.

SEE ALSO: Meet Kenya’s athletics one hit wonders

In the men’s category Daniel Kipkorir Kilimo clocked 2:14:48 to clinch the title. Joseph Biwot, who last year clocked 2:13:41 to win, was not among the top ten.

However, Benjamin Koech, who was second in last year’s race, could only make it in  sixth spot timed at 2:17:30.

“This is my first trial in this marathon, the organisation was good, the climate was harsh even though there was plenty of water, after every 5km.

“Next time they should try and put the water every 2km,” said Kilimo.

Fast time

SEE ALSO: FA Cup final: Kenyan fans forced to watch action at home

William Yegon came in second after clocking 2:14:48, followed in the third position by Joseph Amenya in 2:15:53. Barnabas Bor (2:16:41), Alfred Kipsang (2:17:17) and Benjamin Koech (2:17:30) came in fourth fifth and sixth respectively.

Ezekiel Kiprop (2:17:31), Michael Losuron (2:17:48), Mildon Kimei (2:18:48) and Julius Choge (2:18:49) followed in that order.

In the women race, Chemjor has in her own class as she dominated the race taking charge after 15kms. Caroline Chepkoech was in the second position in 2:31:44 followed by Valarie Chemeli 2:33:40.

The fourth position was occupied by Rebecca Sang, who clocked 2:33:46, Rachel Kitui came in Fifth after taking just  2:33:52.

Magret Karie (2:43:10), Irene Loritares (2:43:28), Jackline Chenock (2:47:23), Doris Besil (2:47:44) and Sally Lagat (2:50:01) took the sixth to tenth positions respectively.

SEE ALSO: Start early preparations for World Under-20

Local race

In the local 5km road race category, Roseline Atieno won in 17:19:31 followed by Veronica Atieno, who clocked 19:44:01, Damaris Akoth came in third after timing 23:20:71.

Linda Kecha clocked 23:29:06 for the fourth position followed by Stella Agongo in 27:21:35 while Maxmillian Akinyi clocked 33:44:47 for the sixth place.

In the men category, Benson Onyango won the 5km road race after clocking 15:19:50. David Opondo (20:34:01) was second, Ezekiel Oduol (25:20:78) was third, while Musa Omode 38:28:03 and Austin Oketch 45:30:12 took the fourth and fifth slots.

The marathon also had Athletics Kenya Secretary General David Okeyo, Public Relations Officer Peter Angwenyi, Safaricom’s Sponsorship Manager Wangui Kibe and local Officials led by Nyanza North AK Chairman Bernard Ndere in attendance.

Winners took home Sh200, 000, runners up Sh100, 000, with third taking Sh75, 000. In the local 5km category, winners took home Sh5,000, second placed had Sh3,500.


Covid 19 Time Series


Amsterdam champion marathon safaricom
Share this story