+ Post your Story

For Enquiries Chat with us on Whatsapp on 0712 538 802

Why the 12th Kenyan Parliament will be a drama house
By Geofry Chemisto | Updated Aug 12, 2017 at 14:05 EAT
Babu Owino
  • Kenyan parliamentary sessions have always been filled with humor and drama.
  • Kenyan general elections took place on 8 August and Uhuru was declared the president.

Kenya has come of age with respect to drama and humor filled in parliamentary sessions. The law making arm of government is tasked with making and amending laws as well as debating on pertinent issues that shape how the country is governed.


Being a tenure that saw more women courtesy of the newly created women representatives from the 47 counties in addition to elected members, it had its own share of drama, punches and law making. Notably, Millie Mabona was on top of her game, Aden Duale firmly kept his Jubilated role fit for the President's man both in parliament and out of the law making house. Alfred Keter of Nandi Hills on the other hand never bowed to his bosses as Moses Kuria remained fresh in the minds of Kenyans thanks to his fearless remarks. Justin Muturi as speaker remained cool all through his helm as Joyce Laboso, now Bomet's Governor-elect kept the seat occupied when her boss was away.


These legislators will definitely keep the August house vibrant considering their history without the walls of parliament. Better be ready for former SONU chairperson, one Paul aka Babu Owino who shaked Kenya's university politics as well as former journalist Ali famously known as Moha Jicho Pevu. Joshua Kutuny is back and will join Alfred Keter, Moses Kuria and Aden Duale on one side of the legislative house. Charles "Jaguar' Njagua earned a slot too representing Starehe constituency as former Nairobi Mayor George Aladwa represents Makadara constituents. Meru people on the other hand have John Paul, a 24 year-old to represent Igembe South. What of the former nominated senator Naisula Lesuuda of Samburu West? Will she be a force to reckon with as she joins other 21 women who have equally been elected by their constituents in the 12th parliament? Wilson Sossion, the teacher's union chair may land a nomination too.

Sit back as drama unfolds right from the swearing in. My bet is on Babu Owino and Wilson Sossion.

Do you have stories, videos or pictures you would like to share with the world?

Simply click on Post Your Story button placed at the top of the website

This is a citizen journalism website. The views expressed here do not represent that of the Standard Group Ltd. Read the terms and conditions
Latest Stories
Popular Stories
Featured Sections
More From This Author
Top Contibutors