Since 1902

Electoral board announces nominees for NOCK polls

NOCK President Paul Tergat. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

The National Olympic Committee of Kenya (NOCK) elections will be held on Friday next week.

On Thursday, the Centre for Corporate Governance, which is the electoral board, released eligible nominees for NOCK elections.

NOCK President and former world marathon record holder Paul Tergat will go unopposed, having been seconded by the Kenya Judo Federation.

A dogfight awaits in the battle for the first Deputy President seat where John Mwangangi Kilonzo of Kenya Rugby Union, and basking on a nod from Kenya Softball Federation, will lock horns.

Mwangangi will square it out with Nashon Randiek of Kenya Hockey Union, who has been seconded by Kenya Handball Federation. Shadrack Maluki of Kenya Judo Federation, who has the green light from Kenya Amateur Weightlifting Association, will defend his first Deputy President post.

In the second Deputy President contest, former world marathon record holder Tegla Loroupe who has been proposed by Kenya Handball Federation and seconded by Kenya Softball Association takes on Waithaka Kioni of Kenya Volleyball Federation, whose seconder is Kenya Amateur Weightlifting Association.

Francis Mutuku Kinyili longs to make a comeback to NOCK as Secretary-General, having been proposed by Kenya Handball Federation and a nod from Kenya Hockey Union. It will be interesting to see Kinyili ducking it out with incumbent Francis Mutuku of Tennis Kenya whose seconder is Athletics Kenya. Kenya Table Tennis Association’s Andrew Mudibo, who has been seconded by Kenya Softball Association, is also in the mix.

Kenya Softball Association’s Francis Njeru Karugu, whose seconder is Kenya Table Tennis Association, must be at his best to stop Kenya Sports Shooting Federation’s Mohamed Addulgani, whose seconder is Kenya Amateur Weightlifting Association, in the chase for Deputy Secretary-General slot. James Mukira of Tae Kwondo Association, who banks on a nod from Kenya Handball Federation, has also thrown his hat on the ring.

Tegla Loroupe will square it out with Waithaka Kionfor the second Deputy President seat. [Edward Kiplimo, Standard]

With an okay from Kenya Sports Shooting Association, Eliud Kariuki of Kenya Amateur Weightlifting Association will slug it out with Moses Mbuthia of Kenya Volleyball Federation in the fight for treasurer’s seat. Mbuthia has been seconded by Kenya Softball Federation.

Kenya Table Tennis Association’s Agnes Oluoch, whose seconder is Kenya Tae kwondo Association, will face off with John Onyango in the deputy treasurer’s showdown. Onyango has been seconded by Kenya Sports Shooting Federation.

The electoral board did not clear Kenya Swimming Federation’s Kenneth Musalia Karani for executive member committee post. Karani had been seconded by Nairobi County Aquatic Association.

Nominees for executive member slots are Kenya Basketball Federation's Paul Agali, Charles Mose (Kenya Cycling Federation), Benjamin Oyumbi (Boxing Federation of Kenya), Suleiman Sumba (Kenya Tae Kwondo Federation), Barnaba Korir (Athletics Kenya), Winnie Kamau (Sports Dispute Tribunal) and June Waweru (Kenya Golf Union and Kenya Golf Federation).

Paurvi Rawal (Tennis Kenya) will go head to head with Mududa Waweru (Kenya Volleyball Federation) in the women representative contest while Humprey Kayange (Kenya Rugby Union) and world 5,000m champion Hellen Obiri (Athletics Kenya) will go unopposed in the athlete representative positions.

The elections cycle of the Olympics body is four years, usually held after the celebrations of the Games of that particular Olympiad.  

The elections of the 2017-2020 Olympiad were delayed following the postponement of Tokyo 2020 to 2021, which led to the NOCK General Assembly delaying the elections until after the Games.