× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Jorginho, Kevin De Bruyne, N’Golo Kante shortlisted for men’s UEFA award

FOOTBALL By Reuters | August 19th 2021
De Bruyne, Kante and Jorginho up for UEFA Player of the Year [photo courtesy]

Manchester City's Kevin de Bruyne and Chelsea pair N'Golo Kante and Jorginho are in the running for UEFA's 2020-21 male player of the year award after topping an all-midfield shortlist published on Thursday.

All featured in Euro 2020 -- De Bruyne for Belgium, Kante with France and Jorginho with winners Italy -- and the shortlist is the first in the 11-year existence of the award to feature only midfielders.

UEFA did not reveal the number of votes cast for the three.

Barcelona's Lionel Messi, the six times Ballon d'Or winner who has moved from Barcelona to Paris St Germain, was fourth on the list.

Bayern Munich's Polish striker Robert Lewandowski, last year's winner, came in fifth with PSG's Gianluigi Donnarumma and Kylian Mbappe sixth and seventh.

The top player from Euro 2020 finalists England was Manchester City's Raheem Sterling in eighth. Portugal and Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo was ninth and Norway and Borussia Dortmund striker Erling Haaland 10th.

The votes were cast by coaches of the 24 national teams that featured at Euro 2020 as well as 80 coaches of clubs that played in the group stages of UEFA's competitions and journalists from each of UEFA's 55 member associations.

The winner will be named on Aug. 26, along with UEFA's women's player of the year and Champions League positional award winners, at the Champions League group stage draw in Istanbul.

The women's shortlist is comprised of three Barcelona midfielders -- Jennifer Hermoso and Lieke Martens along with Alexia Putellas.

The shortlist for men's coach of the year featured Champions league finalists Pep Guardiola of Manchester City and Thomas Tuchel of Chelsea along with Italy's Roberto Mancini.

The women's team coach of the year has two men in the running with Barcelona's Lluis Cortes and Sweden's Peter Gerhardsson up against Chelsea's Emma Hayes.

Share this story
Afghanistan crisis: Afghan national team footballer died in fall from US plane at Kabul Airport
Afghanistan footballer Zaki Anwari dies in fall from plane at Kabul Airport (Image Courtesy: Twitter)
Opening Ceremony: Kenya takes her pride of place as 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games begin
Team Kenya Paralympics strolled majestically into the Tokyo Olympic Stadium led by captain Rodgers Kiprop and Powerlifter Hellen Wawira for the Openin