× Sports Volleyball and Handball Cricket Hockey Gossip & Rumours Premier League videos TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Digital News Opinions E-Paper Videos Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog Enterprise VAS E-Learning E-Paper The Standard Group Corporate RSS
Login ×

Afcon 2021 Qualifier: ‘Ghost’ Mulee names Harambee Stars squad ahead of Comoros clash

Last updated 4 months ago | By Waweru Titus

Jacob ‘Ghost’ Mulee promised Kenyans that he would include experienced players ahead of the qualifiers against Comoros. [Photo: Goal]

Newly appointed coach Jacob ‘Ghost’ Mulee has named his provisional squad ahead of the scheduled two-legged Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against Comoros next month (November).

Among those who have made it to the provisional squad is Finland based goalkeeper Arnold Origi, who will add a touch of experience to the team.

K’Ogalo’s (Gor Mahia) rookie forward Benson Omala and Sofapaka captain Elli Asieche have been included in the squad.

Mulee has also included former Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Victor Wanyama and J-League’s free-scoring machine Michael Olunga ahead of the crucial qualifier.

Belgium based Johanna Omollo, who missed out on the friendly match against Zambia, has also been included.

“Local-based players are expected to kick off non-residential training on Wednesday, October 28, 2020, while their foreign-based counterparts are set to start checking in on November 2, 2020. The team, then, shall have been trimmed to the final 20 that will do duty for Kenya.

“The first leg will be played at the MISC Kasarani on November 11, 2020, at 7 pm, under floodlights, while the second leg has been slated for November 15, 2020, away,” Football Kenya Federation (FKF) said in a statement on Sunday.

Harambee Stars players protest a red card during a past match against Ghana during their Africa Cup of Nations qualifier at Moi International Sports Centre Kasarani Stadium. [Boniface Okendo, Standard]

Mulee’s squad


Arnold Origi (HIFK, Finland), Robert Mboya (Tusker, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Ian Otieno (Zesco United, Zambia), Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)


Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito, Kenya), Brian Mandela (Unattached), Joash Onyango (Simba, Tanzania), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya) Andrew Juma (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Mike Kibwage (Sofapaka, Kenya), Joseph Okumu (Elfsborg, Sweden), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Baraka Badi (KCB, Kenya), David Owino (Zesco United, Zambia), Hillary Wandera (Tusker, Kenya), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden), David Owino (Mathare United, Kenya)

Zambia's Godfrey Nawenya (left) and Captain Brian Mandela of Harambee Stars during a friendly match between at Nyayo National Stadium on Friday, Oct 8, 2020. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]


Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Victor Wanyama (Impact Montreal, Canada), Ismael Gonzalez (UD Las Palmas, Spain), Eric Johanna Omondi (Jonkoping’s Sodra, Sweden), Cliff Nyakeya (Masr FC, Egypt), Antony Akumu (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Musa Masika (Wazito, Kenya), Bonface Muchiri (Tusker, Kenya) Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka, Kenya), Johanna Omolo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Ayub Timbe (Unattached), Peter Thion’go (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Hassan Abdallah (Bandari, Kenya), Elli Asieche (Sofapaka, Kenya), Mathew Olake (Unattached), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya), Austin Odhiambo (AFC Leopards, Kenya)


Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Benson Omala (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Masud Juma (JS Kabylie, Algeria), John Avire (Tanta FC, Egypt), Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)


Dennis Sikhayi (Wazito, Kenya), James Kinyanjui (Mathare United, Kenya)

Share this story