× Sports Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Hockey Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge videos TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Digital News Opinions E-Paper Videos Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog Enterprise VAS E-Learning E-Paper The Standard Group Corporate RSS
Login ×

UEFA Team of the Year: 10 Liverpool stars named on 50-man shortlist

Last updated 10 months ago | By Mirror

Virgil van Dijk and nine of his Liverpool team-mates make up a fifth of the nominations. [Courtesy]

The nominees have been revealed for the 2019 UEFA Team of the Year - and Liverpool players make up a fifth of the 50-man shortlist.

The annual fans' poll opened on Tuesday, with the winning selection to be announced on January 9, the day the vote closes.

And with 10 Liverpool players nominated, supporters could almost pick an entire team from last season's Champions League winners.

Heading the nominations is UEFA player of the year Virgil van Dijk, along with fellow Ballon D'Or contenders Sadio Mane, Roberto Firmino, Mo Salah, Alisson, Georginio Wijnaldum and Trent Alexander-Arnold.

Also on the list are Liverpool skipper Jordan Henderson and his team-mates Fabinho and Andy Robertson, who is the first Scottish player to be nominated since the annual vote began in 2001.

There is no place for semi-final hero Divock Origi, who scored two goals as Liverpool completed a remarkable semi-final comeback from a 3-0 aggregate deficit. Origi also scored to ensure victory for Liverpool n the final. Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo has been nominated for the 16th straight year, having made the final team a record 13 times.

Second and third behind Ronaldo in that respect are Barcelona ace Lionel Messi and Real Madrid defender Sergio Ramos, who has made the team 10 and eight teams respectively. Both are again nominated this year.

Manchester City have seven players on the shortlist - more than last year's beaten finalists Tottenham, despite Spurs having eliminated Pep Guardiola's side at the quarter-final stage.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Matthijs de Ligt - now his team-mate at Juventus - are on the shortlist.[Courtesy]

City have Sergio Aguero, Raheem Sterling, David Silva, Kevin de Bruyne, Bernardo Silva, Aymeric Laporte and Ederson on the list, while the only Tottenham players featured are Harry Kane, Heung-Min Son and Jan Vertonghen.

Chelsea players featured are Cesar Azpilicueta, Jorghinho and N'Golo Kante, while Eden Hazard, who moved from Stamford to Real Madrid in the summer, is also shortlisted.

Arsenal's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang makes the list, but there are no Manchester United players nominated.

The youngest nominee on the shortlist is PSG's Kylian Mbappe at 20, with 34-year-old Ronaldo the oldest.

Other notable names include Matthijs de Ligt and Frenkie de Jong, who both starred in Ajax's thrilling run to the semi-finals but have since switched clubs, to Juventus and Barcelona respectively.

The poll invites football fans to pick their strongest 11 from the shortlist of 50 of Europe's elite players - five goalkeepers, 15 defenders, 15 midfielders and 15 forwards.

Nominees are chosen by the UEFA.com editorial team on the basis of their performances from January to December 2019. Performances in UEFA competitions carry a greater weight in the evaluation.


Share this story