× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Kipchoge makes final IAAF awards list

ATHLETICS By DENNIS OKEYO | November 20th 2018
September 16, 2018 Kenya's Eliud Kipchoge celebrates after winning the Berlin Marathon and breaking the World Record REUTERS

World marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge will battle for the World IAAF Male Athlete of the year award with American sprinter Christian Coleman and Paul Vault star Arman Duplantis of Sweden.   

Others named in the final list of five are 400m hurdles Abderrahman Samba of Qatar, heptathlon’s Kevn Mayer of France.

Kipchoge has a realistic chance of bagging the coveted prize.

Meanwhile, World Steeplechase record holder Beatrice Chepkoech has expressed confidence of emerging tops at the IAAF Gala set for December 4, in Monaco.

The 27-year-old won seven out of eight steeplechase finals including the IAAF Continental Cup, African Championships and IAAF Diamond League final. She also settled for silver at the Commonwealth Games.

She singled out Colombian Caterine Ibarguen and Shaunae Miller-Uibo of Bahamas as her main challengers for the prize.

Others on the list include Heptathlon’s Nafissatou Thiam of Belgium and Dina Asher-Smith of Great Britain, European champion and world leader in 100m, 200m and 4x100m.

“Ibarguen and Shaunae are my main challengers, but I have an upper hand having broken the world record," said Chepkoech. [Dennis Okeyo]

Share this story
Arsenal star set for shock exit
Exit Confirmed: Another Arsenal star set for shock exit
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...