× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Jericho win Athi Water tournament

By | December 25th 2010


Jericho All Stars are the winners of the inaugural Athi Water Services Board inter-constituency football tournament in Nairobi.

Jericho, from Makadara, thrashed Laini Saba, from Lang’ata, 3-0 on post match penalties at City Stadium in Nairobi.

The match had ended goalless in regulation time. Jericho netted all their first three spot kicks while Laini Saba did not score.

Apart from the glittering trophy, Jericho were also rewarded with Sh100, 000 for emerging champions. Laini Saba got Sh75, 000 as the runners up while third-placed Dagoreti got Sh50, 000.

Phillip Ouma from Jericho got the Best Player Award in the three-week tournament.

Jericho earlier put up superb display against Ngando FC from Dagoreti which they beat 2-1 in the semifinals.

Ngando led first with a brilliant header through Wycliffe Obaga in the 19th minute. Isaiah

Omondi leveled for Jericho in the 20th minute and Eddie Kuria sealed the deal 2-1 in the 44th minute to crown Jericho for the final.

An exhibition match featuring best of Kenyan Premier League players was played at the venue to act as a curtain raiser for the finals.

Notable were FK Siad Most Patrick Oboya, Tusker wonder kid, Paul Were, Gor Mahia’s Kevin Omondi and Musa Muhamed who made up the South B Combine team.

Although South B Combine displayed sensational football that left the capacity crowd that thronged city stadium seated at the edge of their seats, they failed to win against Black Mamba who edged them 2-1.

Cheruiyot, Masai to lead African charge in Edinburgh
Reigning World track champions, Vivian Cheruiyot and Linet Masai, will lead the African challenge for victory at the Bupa Great Edinburgh Cross Country IAAF XC Permit Meeting next month.
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...
Share this story