Ruto kicks out more Uhuru appointees from plum jobs

Ruto has also pushed out Brig (Rtd) David Azangu Ngaira who was serving as chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Kenya Electricity Transmission Company Limited (Ketraco) and appointed Abdi Bare Duale to replace him.

Mr Duale served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Kenya Revenue Authority after being appointed by former Cabinet Secretary for the National Treasury, Henry Rotich, in 2017. He also previously served as a chairman of the Kenya Leather Development Council.

According to the notice dated January 20, 2023, Duale will serve for three years and assumes office immediately.

The appointment of Rogers Atebe by the former President as chairperson to the Pharmacy and Poisons Board has also been revoked, and in his place Charles Githinji installed. He will serve for three years. The Pharmacy and Poisons Board is the drug regulatory authority established under the Pharmacy and Poisons Act, Chapter 244 of the Laws of Kenya.

Sophy Nekoye has also been appointed non-executive chairperson of the Youth Advisory Board for three years.

Also featuring on the list of appointees is Philip Mong'ony, who was appointed chairperson of the State Corporations Advisory Committee. Fatma Bakari was appointed non-executive chairperson of the Youth Enterprise Development Fund Board for three years.

At the same time, Cabinet Secretary for Roads and Transport Kipchumba Murkomen has appointed five new members to the Kenya Ports Authority Board of Directors. Musa Osman, Emmanuel Kibet, Caroline Njoki Maina, Consolata Lusweti and Lucas Maitha will serve for three years.

In another notice, Health Cabinet Secretary Susan Wafula revoked the appointments of Paul Magutu, Dorcas Wanjiru, John Munguti, Miriam Wairimu, Stephens Ogutu, and Diana Marion as members of the Pharmacy and Poisons Board.