× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Limuru MP Peter Mwathi elected Security Committee chair

By Moses Nyamori | May 5th 2021
New National Security Committee chairman Limuru MP Peter Mwathi.

Limuru MP Peter Mwathi has been elected to chair the powerful National Administration and Security Committee of the National Assembly.

Members of the committee unanimously endorsed Mwathi to take charge of the team following the death of Kiambaa MP Paul Koinange.

The committee vice chairperson Fatuma Gedi (Wajir), who had declared interest in the seat, withdrew her candidature in favour of Mwathi, citing intervention by ODM leader Raila Odinga.

National Assembly Majority Leader Amos Kimunya on Tuesday said that the Jubilee party had settled on Mwathi to replace Koinange.

Both the late MP and Mwathi come from Kiambu County.

"I know many people have been asking why I did not return my papers. said Gedi. The former prime minister {Raila Odinga] told me that we support Mwathi for the position," said Gedi

"The committee initially wanted one of their own but you know there are a lot of dynamics. Koinange was from Kiambu just like Mwathi," said Gedi.

The vacant seat had attracted a lot of interest from the president's allies and those of Raila.

It is only the security committee and that of the Defence and Foreign Relations chaired by Katoo Ole Metito that were personally appointed by the President after the 2017 general election.

The late Koinange was a close confidant of the president and Mwathi, who had been touted to chair the powerful Budget and Appropriations Committee following the purge of Deputy President William Ruto’s allies, was later dropped in favour of Kieni MP Kanini Kega.

Mwathi’s election today elevates him to President Uhuru’s inner circle from Mt Kenya region.

The Committee is mandated to investigate, inquire into, and report on all matters relating to security and national administration.

This includes matters to do with the registration of births and deaths and issues to do with refugees.

Share this story
Teacher accused of throwing baby into fire charged
The offenses were committed on April 25, 2021 at Ngaratuko village in Baringo north Sub-county in Baringo County.
Cyber crime poses threat to Kenya's financial sector
’Monitoring fraud trends is critical as it enables stakeholders to identify awareness gaps and ensure security of consumer monies