MPs Moses Kuria, Kimani Ichungwa could be next on Jubilee’s chopping board

The purge in Jubilee Party continues to widen with legislators in the faction allied to Deputy President William Ruto being a particularly a worried lot.

Members of Parliament Moses Kuria, Kimani Ichung’wa, Joyce Korir, Robert Pukose, and Cornelly Serem could fall victims, if they do not respond to discharge letters sent by National Assembly Majority Chief whip Emmanuel Wangwe.

In the letters seen by Standard Digital, the five MPs have been given seven days each by the Jubilee Party to explain why they should not be axed from their respective committees.

The party wants to discharge the Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria from the Parliamentary Transport, Public Works & Housing Committee.

“Pursuant to standing orders 176 (1) and 176 (2), you are hereby notified that the Jubilee party which nominated you intends to discharge you from the Transport, Public Works and Housing Committee,” the letter addressed to Moses Kuria read.

Bomet Women Representative Joyce Korir and Endebess MP Robert Pukose may be discharged from the Labour and Social Welfare and Energy committees respectively.

Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa and Cornelly Serem could be stripped off the Budget and Appropriations and Trade, Industry, and Co-operative committees respectively.

Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa could be stripped off the Budget and Appropriations Committee.


Their warnings come a day after the ruling Jubilee party held another Parliamentary Group meeting at State House, Nairobi.

Yesterday’s events saw National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale survive the purge targeting DP William Ruto’s allies from plum positions.

MP Benjamin Washiali and nominated MP Cecily Mbarire’s fates were however sealed as they were kicked out of their positions.

The two were replaced by Navakholo MP Emmanuel Wangwe and Igembe North MP Maoka Maore as Majority Whip and deputy Whip respectively. 

Also not spared in the purge are Senators Kithure Kindiki, Kipchumba Murkomen and Susan Kihika who were shown the door in their positions.

Kindiki was yesterday replaced by Uasin Gishu Senator Prof Margaret Kamar as Senate deputy speaker, while Murkomen was replaced by West Pokot Senator Samuel Poghisio as Majority Leader and Murang’a’s Irungu Kang’ata replaced Kihika as Majority Chief Whip.

Tuesday’s meeting was attended by Deputy President William Ruto, Jubilee Party Secretary-General Raphael Tuju and 212 Members of Parliament.