× Digital News Videos Opinions Cartoons Education E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS
ODM has postponed its nominations for the Kibra parliamentary seat by-elections to September 7.

The exercise was scheduled for this Saturday but the party moved it to next weekend, citing security concerns.

ODM’s National Elections Board Chairperson Judith Pareno said police had informed the party they were occupied with census and could therefore not provide security for the nomination.

ODM has notified the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) of its decision. Ms Pareno urged all the aspirants to continue with peaceful campaigns.

SEE ALSO: Raila calms tensions in Nyanza over 2022 polls

The party planned to spend Sh10 million to conduct the nomination. Party Secretary General Edwin Sifuna (pictured) defended the high budget, saying the money was meant to make the contest free and fair.

“We want to run a free and fair democratic contest. Each of the candidates cleared will be given an equal chance to prove his popularity without any interference,” said Mr Sifuna.

11 candidates

Sifuna also revealed that ODM had handed the names of 11 candidates cleared to run in the primaries to IEBC.

He noted that since the party has been blamed for holding shambolic nominations in the past, a situation that led to an exodus of some of the candidates to other parties, ODM will this time be keen to avoid such a scenario.

SEE ALSO: Grief as former MP Kajembe dies days after burying wife

“We are not going to entertain chaos. If you try to cause chaos we will de-register you from the party. You must conduct yourselves with utmost civility,” Sifuna told the candidates.

Those cleared are Christone Odhiambo, popularly known as DJ Kriss Darlin, Peter Ochieng, Tony Ogola Sira, William Ayacko and Stephen Okello.

Others are Bernard Otieno, Eric Ochieng, Brian Owino, John Otieno, Benson Musungu and Patrick Lumumba Owade.

The by-election will be held on November 7. The seat fell vacant following the death of Ken Okoth on July 26.

Sifuna reiterated party leader Raila Odinga’s remarks that the exercise will be free and fair, and urged candidates to promote party values.

SEE ALSO: Mbadi, Aladwa differ on move to discipline MCAs

Covid 19 Time Series


ODM Kibra By-election
Share this story

Read More