× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Magwanga and Osele ousted from ODM leadership posts in Homa Bay county

By James Omoro | August 24th 2020

The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), Homa Bay County branch has thrown out officials who contested as independent candidates in the last election.

The party, through its county co-ordinating committee, has removed former Kasipul MP Oyugi Magwanga and former Kabondo Kasipul MP Silvance Osele from their positions as secretary and deputy secretary respectively.

The changes were made during the county co-coordinating committee meeting held in a Homa Bay hotel on Friday.

Other changes

In the meeting chaired by county ODM chairperson Gladys Wanga and her deputy Hamilton Orata, MPs Ong’ondo Were (Kasipul), Martin Owino (Ndhiwa), Eve Obara (Kabondo Kasipul) and Adipo Okuome (Karachuonyo) were elected for various positions.

Were was elected county party secretary, Owino (treasurer), Obara (deputy secretary) and Okuome (deputy organising secretary).

Magwanga contested Homa Bay governorship as an independent candidate in the last election but he has since returned to ODM.

Osele contested Kabondo Kasipul parliamentary seat.

Addressing journalists after the meeting, Ms Wanga said filling party positions will be cascaded to constituency level.

She said the move is aimed at strengthening the party in the county.

Share this story
Daddy's Girl: Journey on being raised by single father
He says she will tell her own story. He wants to tell his, and that of his daughter.
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...