Anne Waiguru re-elected CoG chairperson

She previously served as the Council's first female vice chairperson from December 2017 to January 2019.

Her Wajir counterpart Ahmed Abdullahi has also retained his seat as the council's deputy chairperson to serve for the same period.

Most governors retained their positions at the council including Muthomi Njuki (Health), Energy, Roads, Transport and Infrastructure (Kimani Wamatangi), Finance, Planning and Economic Affairs (Fernandes Barasa), and Resource Mobilization and Partnerships (Cecily Mbarire).

While Governor Patrick Ole Ntutu reained his position for Tourism and Wildlife, his Bungoma counterpart Kenneth Lusaka retained the Agriculture, Livestock and Cooperatives docket, Nathif Jama for Arid, Semi-Arid Lands (ASAL), Kisumu's Anyang Nyong'o Disaster Management committee, Land, Housing and Urban Development and Issa Timamy the Blue Economy docket.

Nairobi's Johnson Sakaja, however, lost the Human Resource, Labour, and Social Welfare docket to his Nyeri counterpart Mutahi Kahiga.

In the position of chair of the Trade, Industry, and Enterprise Development Committee, Nakuru's Susan Kihika has been picked to replace Wavinya Ndeti of Machakos.

In the same election, Baringo's Benjamin Cheboi was picked to replace Tana River's Dhadho Godhana in the Security and Foreign Affairs committee docket.

The leadership will play a key role in steering devolution and development agenda across the counties in the next one-year.