Ex-MPs trounced in Speaker elections at the Coast

Newly elected Taita-Taveta County Assembly Speaker Wisdom Mwamburi (second left) with the Assembly Clerk Gadiel Maghanga at the assembly chamber sin Wundanyi town on September 22, 2022. [Renson Mnyamwezi, Standard]

Former MPs and outgoing county officials were the biggest causalities in the election of Speakers of the four county assemblies at the Coast yesterday.

Former Voi MP Jones Mlolwa got only one vote out of 32 votes in the Speaker race for Taita Taveta county assembly. Former Tana River Senator Juma Wario withdrew from the race.

Former Garissa District Commissioner who at one time served as the clerk of the defunct Mombasa Municipal Council Wisdom Mwamburi was elected Speaker.

Mr Mwamburi (Jubilee), beat 10 candidates in the first round after he garnered 22 votes. His closest challenger Simon Mwachia got nine votes.

Mgange-Mwanda MCA Anselim Mwadime of Pamoja Africa Alliance (PAA) got 26 votes to beat Rose Shingira of Wiper who managed 6 votes in the contest for the Deputy Speaker post.

The immediate former Speaker Meshack Maghanga who served for 10 years performed poorly as he got zero votes.

Janet Mwawasi (UDA) was however locked out of the exercise after she allegedly presented an invalid tax compliance certificate.

“We wrote to the Kenya Revenue Authority that has confirmed to us that the candidate attached invalid tax compliance certificate hence the disqualification,” said assembly Clerk Gadiel Maghaga.

Earlier, the clerk presided over the swearing-in of the 32 MCAs that started late after some of them arrived late at Wundanyi Assembly chambers.

Addressing the assembly after he was declared the winner, Speaker Kazungu promised to uphold the Constitution and defend devolution for the benefit of residents.

“I promise to discharge my duties diligently and in line with the constitution and to the best of my knowledge for the best interests of the local community,” he said.

In Kwale, former Msambweni MP Omar Zonga got one vote in the assembly Speaker contest.

Former Speaker Sammy Ruwa who served for two terms lost to Seth Kamanza, who in the August 9 General Election contested for the Kinango MP but lost to Samuel Gonzi Rai.

Mr Kamanza garnered 20 votes to beat his closest challenger immediate former Kwale county legal advisor Salim Gombeni who got 10 votes. Mr Gombeni is an ally of Governor Fatuma Achani.

In the first round, Speaker Kamanza got 13 votes, Gombeni nine and Ruwa managed seven. This forced the MCAs to go for second round of voting pitting the two top candidates.

Kumbo South Ward MCA Andrew Mulei of Pamoja Africa Alliance (PAA) retained his seat as Kwale Deputy Speaker after he was elected unopposed.

On Tuesday, former Ganze MP Teddy Mwambire was elected Speaker of Kilifi county assembly after garnering 37 votes.

Mr Mwambire beat James Mlewa of the Pamoja African Alliance party (PAA) who got 13 votes.

In Tana River, former police officer Osman Nur Galole was elected Speaker after defeating immediate former county secretary Joshua Jarha.

Mr Galole garnered 18 votes against Mr Jarha's 8 votes during the vote in Hola county assembly.

Other candidates Frankfeit Ddaiddo and Kalif Abdi Adhan got zero votes.

Former Senator Juma Wario and four others who applied for the position withdrew at the last minute.

Garsen South ward MCA Roda Raha was elected unopposed as deputy speaker.

Galole thanked MCAs for electing him and promised to observe the rules and standing orders of the chamber for the benefit of residents.

"I hereby thank you all for electing me and assure you to work together for the benefit of the people of Tana River County," he said.

The Speaker was formerly a security aide to former Galole MP Hassan Dukicha. He resigned from the Police Service at the rank of inspector to vie for the Speaker post.

Meanwhile, Lamu Governor Isa Timamy has gazetted today to be the first sitting for the MCAs where they will be sworn in and thereafter elect the Speaker.

In Mombasa, Aharub Khatri is poised to retain his seat after other nine candidates failed to beat the deadline of submitting their application papers. According to a letter from the County Assembly clerk Salim Juma the candidates were supposed to present the papers by Wednesday.

Reports by Renson Mnyamwezi, Patrick Beja, Nehemiah Okwembah and Hassan Barisa