Advocate Eric Theuri elected LSK president

IEBC Returning Officer Joseph Mele (Right) congratulates new Law Society of Kenya President Eric Theuri at the LSK tallying centre on March 10, 2022. [David Gichuru, Standard]

Eric Theuri has been elected the 50th president of the Law Society of Kenya (LSK).

Theuri will serve in the position for the next two years.

He succeeds Nelson Havi, who was bundled out of office by a caucus of branch chairpersons before the end of his term, last year.

The new LSK boss beat former LSK vice-president Caroline Kamende by 726 votes at national polls held on Thursday, March 10.

Theuri, a corporate audit specialist and advocate garnered, 1,811 against Kamende’s 1,085. 

He also beat former LSK Council Members Omwanza Ombati, Coast Branch chairman Mathew Nyabena and Bernard Kipkoech, who once served as LSK treasurer.

“I will let you work and support you should you require my counsel. May you succeed where I failed and improve on what I did,” Havi said in his congratulatory message to Theuri.

The polls were conducted by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) across 25 designated LSK polling stations countrywide. 

The electronic voting was managed by the society's seven-member elections board headed by Senior Counsel Janmohamed Zehrabanu.