× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

16 governors locked out of Nairobi offices

By Julius Chepkwony | June 29th 2021

The counties are expected to clear their rent arrears and make arrangements with the landlord to vacate the premises. [Courtesy]

At least 16 governors have been locked out of their Nairobi offices over rent arrears and expiry of lease.

The governors will today have no offices to operate from in Nairobi after the landlord ordered them to vacate the offices at Delta House. The caretaker was also ordered to lock the offices.

The affected counties are Baringo, Bungoma, Nyeri, Mombasa, Tharaka Nithi, Migori, Mandera, Turkana, Kirinyaga, Turkana, Samburu, Kisumu, Lamu, Kitui, Isiolo and Vihiga.

"Please note the lease between the CoG and the landlord is coming to an end at the midnight of January 31, 2020. In compliance with the lease agreement, the Council of Governors will hand over back the premises to the landlord," read part of the letter dated January 31, 2020, signed by Rosemary Njaramba on behalf of the property managers, Knight Frank.

The counties are expected to clear their rent arrears and make arrangements with the landlord to vacate the premises.

According to the letter, Baringo County has accumulated Sh2.6 million in rent, Bungoma Sh2.2 million, Nyeri Sh2.2 million and Mombasa Sh5 million.

Tharaka Nithi owes Sh1.4 million while Migori owes Sh2.6 million.

Others are Mandera County, which owes the landlord Sh2.2 million, Vihiga Sh3.2 million, Kirinyaga Sh411,309, Samburu Sh3.2 million, Kisumu Sh2.7 million, Kitui Sh6.2 million and Isiolo Sh4 million.

Share this story
7pm-4am curfew in 13 counties to remain until July 31: Uhuru
In other parts of the country, the curfew restriction would continue running from 10pm to 4am for another 60 days, starting June 29.
National Treasury’s high excise duty on nicotine pouches is ill-advised
Data released last month by the Ministry for Health found that 8,100 Kenyans die from tobacco-related illnesses per year.