Standard Group journalist Zubeidah Koome elected Editors Guild President

Incoming Kenya Editors Guild President Zubeida Koome. 

Standard Group journalist Zubeidah Kananu Koome is the new president of the Kenya Editors Guild (KEG). 

Kananu, a Swahili anchor at KTN News was announced the winner following editors' elections during an annual general meeting held on Saturday, April 29 in Nairobi. 

Kananu garnered 72 votes, beating Sammy Muraya who scored 36. Until her election to the top seat, Kananu was the Vice President of the editors’ body.

Ruth Nesoba of the BBC was elected as the Vice President. Ms Nesoba garnered 73 votes, beating James Ng’ang’a Mbugua of Media Max who managed 35 votes.

Kananu will now be at the helm of the guild for a period of two years, succeeding Churchill Otieno.

Immediately after she was announced the winner, Kananu said: "I appreciate you all for trusting in me, we promise to not let you down. We are told that when we learn from the best, we become better."

She described the outgoing President as a reliable and supportive colleague.

On his part, Otieno wished Kananu well as she begins the journey to head the association.

"It is adios at Kenya Editors. Today I hand over to Zubeida Kananu who has just been elected by editors for a term of two years," said Otieno.

Kenya Editors Guild members. 

Other Council members are Francis Mureithi, who is the Radio Africa Group’s Digital Editor. Mureithi will be in charge of digital media in the new council.

Linda Bach of Standard Group will also serve as a council member for print, as Millicent Awuor will be a council member for television.

Teopista Nabusoba of KBC will now be the council member for radio and Goerge Nyambuga, a council member for academia.

Arthur Okwemba of African Women and Child and Martin Masai of Eastern Broadcasting Corporation took over as Trustees.

The Kenya Editors Guild's role is to promote standards of journalism and the independence of media, to advise members on issues of practical and ethical concern, and to represent members' interests in all matters of editorial and professional concern.