Kenya Kwanza, Azimio set to clash over majority side in Nairobi assembly

A section of Nairobi  MCAs allied to Azimio one Kenya Coalition cheer on after Speaker Ken Ngondi was elected the Assembly Speaker on September 29, 2022. [Samson Wire, Standard]

President William Ruto's UDA is scheming to control the Nairobi county assembly a day after Azimio la Umoja One Kenya unveiled its House leadership.

UDA has written to the assembly Speaker Ken Ng’ondi claiming to be the majority and presented names of the House leadership.

Azimio and Kenya Kwanza coalitions are now headed for showdown like what was witnessed in the National Assembly where Speaker Moses Wetangla was forced to rule on the majority side in the House.

“Kindly note that the following UDA leaders are the duly nominated members from our party to be Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Majority Whip Deputy Majority Whip and County Service Board Member in Nairobi County Assembly,” reads the letter dated October 12 by UDA Secretary General Veronica Maina.

“Please accord them the necessary support as they serve in the County Assembly. This is the party position which must be upheld,” she added.

UDA has fronted Waithaka ward representative Anthony Kiragu as the Majority Leader to be deputized by Nairobi South ward rep Waithera Chege.

Umoja 1-member Mark Ronaldo was named as Majority Whip and Joyce Muthoni as his deputy while Susan Makungu was named County Service Board.

UDA through its communication Director confirmed that the letter to assembly Speaker was genuine contrary to earlier reports that the document could have been erroneous.

A section of UDA members insisted that they have the upper hand in numbers and the precedent set in the National Assembly should be followed.

In the assembly, UDA has 53 members under the Kenya Kwanza Alliance while Azimio has 67.

"There is nothing like the Azimio party in the assembly, our party (UDA) has the majority and the same thing that happened in the National Assembly will be replicated," Mr Kiragu told The Standard.

"Azimio is not a party and has no single elected member in the house, the parties we have are UDA, Jubilee, Wiper, ODM and Chama Cha Kazi," he added.

Mr Chege echoed Kiragu saying the precedent was already set by the August House.

Azimio has picked Makongeni MCA Peter Imwatok as the Majority Leader to be deputized by Laini Saba MCA John Musila.

Kilimani ward rep Moses Ogeto has been listed as the Majority Whip to be deputized by Upper Savannah MCA Elijah Stazo.

While Nominated MCA Catherine Okoth has been picked  to represent Azimio at the Nairobi County Assembly Service Board.

 “I have since received a letter dated October 11 from the Azimio-One Kenya coalition party affirming its leadership in the county assembly,” Speaker Ng’ondi said.