Nairobi: Green City turns blue as Azimio wins most seats

Embakasi East MP Babu Owino celebrates his victory after he was announced the winner at The East African School of Aviation in Embakasi on August 11, 2022. [Denish Oohing, Standard]

The political landscape of the Green City in the Sun has been painted blue as the Raila Odinga-led Azimio coalition won more seats than William Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza Alliance in Nairobi County parliamentary races.

Raila’s coalition, according to results released by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), clinched 13 out of 17 seats and Kenya Kwanza got three.

By Wednesday, Azimio was already celebrating after ODM’s Felix Odiwuor popularly known as Jalang’o unseated UDA’s Nixon Korir in Langata.

Media personality Felix Odiwuor, alias Jalang’o. [Stafford Ondego, Standard]

Westlands MP Timothy Wanyonyi (ODM) retained his seat after beating former Law Society of Kenya (LSK) president Nelson Havi who was contesting on an UDA ticket.

Although IEBC has not officially declared some winners, provisional results and messages from some contestants conceding defeat confirmed Azimio candidates’ victories.

Azimio candidates won in Kamukunji, Starehe, Ruaraka, Roysambu, Mathare, Kibra, Makadara, Embakasi South, Embakasi North, Embakasi West, Embakasi East and Dagoretti North.

In Kibera Constituency, Peter Orero of the Orange Democratic Party was declared the winner. Orero garnered 33, 008 votes against his close rival McDonald Mariga of UDA who got 20,049 votes.

 Peter Orero of the Orange Democratic Party garnered 33, 008 votes. [Samson Wire, Standard]

The current MP, Bernard Okoth who was an independent candidate, came third with 18,901 votes.

UDA won in Embakasi Central where Benjamin Gathiru, also the incumbent, retained his seat after garnering 48,227 votes against Jubilee’s Samuel Mwangi who garnered 29,375 votes.

Ruto’s ally, John Kiarie (KJ) beat Jubilee’s Dennis Waweru for a second time and will represent Dagoretti South Constituency for another five years.

There was tension at PC Kinyanjui Technical Training Institute where Waweru attempted to stop the tallying exercise claiming the process was fraudulent.

“They have stolen three ballot boxes yet the IEBC officials are tallying votes without giving an explanation on the missing ballot boxes,” said Waweru.

In Kasarani Constituency, however, both the coalitions lost as the seat went to an independent candidate, Ronald Karauri, the former chief executive of betting firm, SportPesa. He unseated the incumbent Mercy Gakuya of Jubilee.

Ronald Karauri. [Boniface Okendo, Standard]

In the presidential vote, UDA proved too strong for Azimio in Kasarani as Ruto garnered 55,300 against Raila’s 35,027.

In the same constituency, UDA’s candidate for Senate, Margaret Wanjiru had 51,210 against Azimio’s Edwin Sifuna who had 32,461. In the Woman Representative race UDA’s Millicent Omanga got 55,000 votes against Esther Passaris’ 32,481.

The Azimio winners are Amos Mwago (Starehe), Hassan Abdi (Kamukunji), Babu Owino (Embakasi East), Beatrice Elachi (Dagoretti North), Julius Mawathe (Embakasi South) and Tom Kajwang’ (Ruaraka)

The others are Isaac Waihenya (Roysambu), Peter Orero (Kibra), Anthony Oluoch (Mathare), George Aladwa (Makadara), Tim Wanyonyi (Westlands), Mark Mwenje (Embakasi West), Felix Odiwuor (Lang’ata) and Benjamin Gathiru (Embakasi Central).

Nairobi has 2,396,117 registered voters​.