How to find out if someone's been 'stalking' you on social media

Facebook is a nifty platform for many functions, but two of its most popular remain making everyone jealous and creeping other people's profiles.

Come on and admit it - you're almost certainly guilty of doing the latter.

After all, looking at someone else's profile is now so easy to do, the act of grubbing through photos of their 2006 holiday may not even seem that big a deal.

Best of all, you can do it safe in the knowledge that unless you accidentally - shudder - 'like something', they'll never be any the wiser.

SEE ALSO :Facebook rejects to remove post as website blocked

Or at least, that used to be the case.

It's not to say suddenly Facebook is going to adopt the same functionality as LinkedIn and reveal to its users who's been perusing their profile.

Facebook have always said they have no plans to reveal this data and, by and large, this remains the case.

It would dissuade many of its 1.86 billion users from utilising the site as fully as Facebook would like.

However, the site has introduced a new feature which means you may need to exercise a little more caution.

SEE ALSO :France to pursue tax frauds through social media

Facebook recently rolled out its 'Stories' feature to all of its mobile users.

Similar to the same feature on Instagram, Facebook Stories are short user-generated photo and video collections which can be viewed twice and then disappear after 24 hours

As with Instagram stories though, you can see how many people viewed your story AND who has specifically looked at each piece of content within your story.

So while you can resume your creeping of profiles in sweet anonymity, it's no longer 100 per cent across all of the site's features.

Facebooksocial media