Your are here  » Home

Season’s best named

By | Updated Fri, December 11th 2009 at 00:00 GMT +3

By Gilbert Wandera

Sofapaka forward John Baraza was on Wednesday night named Footballer of the Year in a ceremony dominated by his club and Gor Mahia.

Baraza also won another award of joint top scorer sharing it with Tusker striker Joseph Emeka.

Both the strikers scored 15 goals to emerge joint top scorers during the just concluded season.

KPL joint top scorers Joseph Emeka (left), and John Baraza , who was also named the Best Player at the Foya Awards on Wednesday.

It was a befitting end to the season for Baraza who joined Sofapaka during the mid-season transfer window and led them to clinch the title in their first year of top-flight football.

Prior to joining the league champions, Baraza was at Chemelil Sugar where he had scored seven goals in the first leg of the league.

Baraza finished ahead of Gor Mahia’s Peter Opiyo and Joseph Nyaga from Mathare United.

Apart from Baraza, Sofapaka coach Robert Matano was deservedly named coach of the year after leading the club to their first league title.

Matano beat last year’s winner Francis Kimanzi of Mathare United while Gor Mahia’s Gideon Ochieng was third in this category.

Matano termed his win as long overdue and is delighted that at last his efforts have been recognised.

He said: "I have done a lot for Kenyan football but it has never been recognised. For me this is a big day and makes up for all the disappointment I have had to endure over the years."

The award for the best goalkeeper went to Wilson Oburu another Sofapaka player.

Oburu finished ahead of last year’s winner Duncan Ochieng (Mathare United) and Sher’s Noah Ayuko.

Award winning Standard Group team from left Robin Toskin, Hassan Juma (TV), Omulo Okoth and Stafford Ondego (Photography).

The full awards list:

Goalkeeper of the Year: Wilson Oburu (Sofapaka)

New Player of the Year: George Odhiambo (Gor)

Defender of the Year: Edgar Ochieng (Sofapaka)

Mid-Fielder of the Year: Peter Opiyo (Gor),

Guinness player of the year:John Baraza (Sofapaka)

Top Scorer: John Baraza, Joseph Emeka.

Coach of the Year: Robert Matano (Sofapaka)

Fair play player of the year: Dennis Okoth (City Stars)

Team Manager of the Year: Benson Mutinda (Sofapaka).

Fair play team: Sony Sugar,

Coach of the Year Robert Matano . [PHOTO:MOSES OMUSULA/STANDARD]

Referee of the Year: Isaac Ochieng

Assistant Referee of the Year: Walter Ondiege

Print Journalist of the Year: Robin Toskin

TV Journalist of the Year: Mike Okinyi (Citizen),

Photo Journalist of the Year: Stafford Ondego (Standard).

Radio Journalist: Joseph Oyoo/Jacob Mulee (Radio Jambo).


Joe Kadenge: Sh300,000



latest News


Trending Now


KTN News Live Stream