× Digital News Videos Health & Science Lifestyle Opinion Education Cartoons Columnists Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

24 advocates now conferred senior counsel status

By Saada Hassan | July 20th 2020
Wiper leader Kalonzo Musyoka during an interview with The Standard at his Karen residence on May 31, 2019. He has been told to relinquish his political relationship with ODM leader Raila Odinga to gain ground for his 2022 presidential bid. [Jenipher Wachie/Standard]

President Uhuru Kenyatta has conferred 24 advocates of the High court senior counsel rank. The advocates will now be serving at the exclusivity of the status of an honorary accolade every lawyer yearns to achieve.

“The president Prerogative to confer the rank and dignity of Senior Counsel is set out under the Advocates Act. The rank of the Senior Counsel is conferred in accordance with the recommendations of the Committee on senior Counsel, to Advocates of the High Court of Kenya who have distinguished themselves by rendering exemplary service in the legal and public services arenas,” said Kanze Dena, State House Spokesperson.

Since the inception of the status in 2003, only 23 of the over 16,000 lawyers admitted to the bar have earned the status.

Wiper Party leader Kalonzo Musyoka, former Director of Public Prosecutions Philip Murgor, Narc-Kenya Party leader Martha Karua and Zehrabanu Janmohamed who is also a non-executive director of Standard Group PLC are among those who will be added to the roll of Senior Counsel.

Other Advocates include:

OM Parkash Nagpal, Fackson Wainaina Kagwe, Pravin Kumar Bowry, Charles Waweru Gatonye, Rautta Athiambo, Fredrick Ngatia, Mohammed Nyaoga, Albert Mumma, Beautah Alukhava Siganga, Kiragu Kimani, Judy Thongori, Taib Ali Taib Bajabir, Wilfred Nderitu, John M Ohaga, Kioko Kilukumi, Patricia Mande Nyaundi, Dorcas Agik Odhong Oduor, Abdikadir Hussein Mohamed, Paul Otiende Amollo, and John Mugwimi Chigit.

Last year about 90 lawyers had applied to join the exclusive club. The 10 member committee that oversees the vetting comprises of the Attorney-General, a Court of Appeal judge, a High Court judge, three Senior Counsel and four advocates.

According to LSK, one must have a minimum of 15 years' experience as an advocate, high integrity and unquestionable professional conduct.

One must also have contributed to the development of the legal profession through scholarly writings and presentations within the legal profession.

Share this story
Covid-19 separates the men from boys of corporate Kenya
Thanks to their solid financial grounding, some of the most profitable firms in the country have warded off the adverse effects of Covid-19
I eagerly await my baby's first steps
Spina Bifida, and though rare in the general population, it is the most common neural tube defect in the world