× Digital News Videos Africa Health & Science Opinion Columnists Education Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Planet Action Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS


14-member Building Bridges initiative task force gazetted

By Lilian Kwamboka | May 31st 2018 | 2 min read
Building bridges: President Uhuru Kenyatta and Raila Odinga building bridges in a bear hug during the National Prayer Breakfast at Safari Park hotel, Nairobi. [PSCU]

The Uhuru-Rila 14-member Building Bridges initiative has now been officially gazetted and given a year to submit a comprehensive report.

President Uhuru Kenyatta and Raila Odinga established the taskforce comprising Adams Oloo , Agnes Kavindu, Senator Amos Wako, Florence Omose, Saeed Mwanguni, James Matundura, Major John Seii, Bishop Lawi Imathiu, Maison Leshomo, Senator Mohamed Yusuf Haji, Morompi ole Ronkai Prof., Bishop Peter Njenga, Rose Moseu, Archbishop Zecheus Okot to operationalise their reconciliation.

That came in the wake of post-election bad blood that was tearing the nation apart.

The taskforce's joint secretaries  are Amb. Martin Kimani and Paul Mwangi .

The terms of reference of the task force are "to evaluate the national challenges outlined in the Joint Communiqué of 'Building Bridges to a New Kenyan Nation, and having done so, make practical recommendations and reform proposals that build lasting unity."

It is also mandated to "outline the policy, administrative reform proposals, and implementation modalities for each identified challenge area; and conduct consultations with citizens, the faith-based Sector, cultural leaders, the private sector and experts at both the county and national levels."

The Taskforce will also regulate its own procedures including appointing, revolving co-chairs from among its members; regulate its own procedure while working within confines of the Constitution; shall privilege bipartisan and non-partisan groupings, forums; shall form technical working groups as necessary.

A list of the taskforce members.


Share this story
The other Kim summit: Trump keeps up Kardashian at White House meet
The reality star entered the grounds of 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue wearing a black suit and canary yellow stilettoes.
When Njonjo almost resigned over coffee smugglers
Known as the era of black gold, it began in 1976 when Ugandan farmers decided to sell their coffee in the private market.