× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Police officers reshuffled in radical changes

By Cyrus Ombati | February 3rd 2014

By Cyrus Ombati

Kenya: More than 40 senior police officers have been reshuffled in new changes that came amid complaints of lack of regional balance.

Among those moved are police county commanders for Marsabit and Narok counties.

The new Marsabit County police commander is Benjamin Kogo who will replace Mr Erastus Muthamia who moves to Eastern police headquarters, while Kayole OCPD Samuel Mukinda has been named the new Narok County police commander to replace Ms Grace Kakai who moves to police headquarters.

Kayole OCPD is Joseph Ndegwa while Mombasa’s urban boss Kipkemboi Rop has been moved to Kericho in the same capacity to replace Aphiod Nyaga who was transferred to Vigilance House.

Police headquarters announced the changes that also saw Joseph Omija moved to Musambweni as the new OCPD to replace Jack Ekakoro who moves to Vigilance House, and Joseph Mutungi transferred to Kinango as the division commander.

The new Mombasa Urban OCPD is Geoffrey Mayiek while Mr John Baraza is the new OCPD for Merti.

Teso OCPD Elphas Korir has transferred to Embu headquarters while Shariff Abdalla has been moved from Western to Central administration department to replace Kariuki Kiura who was transferred to Vigilance House.

Some of the officers who were sent home nine years ago were reinstated and posted to new positions.

They include Stephen Soi (General Service Unit headquarters), Johnston Korir (KAPU JKIA), Titus Kariuki (Deputy, Homabay County), Severine Kemboi (Deputy, Mombasa County), Peter Kamau (Deputy, Embu County), John Maru (Traffic), Charles Ontita (Deputy, Kirinyaga County), Benson Momanyi (CID headquarters), David Bett (CID headquarters), Joel Langat (Deputy, Kajiado County), R Katiti (Traffic) and Ronald Benkelei (KAPU).

Nyandarua OCPD Symon Gababa was moved to Taveta in the same capacity while Voi’s Justice Nzivo was transferred to police headquarters in Nairobi.

Share this story
Kenya Power Charity Cup: Mathare lose to Sofapaka in post-match penalties
Sofapaka retained the Kenya Power Charity Cup after edging out Mathare United 3-2 (1-1) in a nerve wrecking penalty shoot-out at Nyayo National Stadium yesterday.
Opening Ceremony: Kenya takes her pride of place as 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games begin
Team Kenya Paralympics strolled majestically into the Tokyo Olympic Stadium led by captain Rodgers Kiprop and Powerlifter Hellen Wawira for the Openin