× Digital News Videos Kenya @ 50 Health & Science Lifestyle Opinion Education Columnists Ureport Arts & Culture Moi Cabinets Fact Check The Standard Insider Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS
Login ×

Coast ODM MPs keen to quit deny Ruto link

By Patrick Beja | August 3rd 2020 at 00:00:00 GMT +0300

A section of Coast ODM legislators have maintained that they will soon form their own party.

The MPs said their decision has been prompted by the way ODM has been treating the region.

“Although we have our own issues with how ODM is treating us, when a child gets of age, he builds his own ‘simba’ and move to eventually establish a home,” said Kilifi North MP Owen Baya.

The MP, who is leading Vuguvugu la Mageuzi Pwani that will eventually see Coast legislators exit from ODM, said their recent statements served as a notice that they will soon walk out of the Orange party.

Coast MPs, including some from Jubilee, have complained about how ODM senators from Raila Odinga’s backyard voted for the contentious revenue sharing formula which they noted could serve to marginalise their region.

Read More

Nyanza betrayal

Kinango MP Benjamin Tayari said they had no issue with Raila but their plan to quit his party was triggered by alleged betrayal by Nyanza senators who did not vote with the Coast counterparts on sharing of revenue among counties.

“We have always given our utmost support to legislators from Nyanza and expected them to do the same but we feel they betrayed us,” Mr Tayari said.

Other Coast MPs who have supported Vuguvugu la Mageuzi Pwani movement are Michael Kingi (Magarini), Andrew Mwadime (Mwatate), Jones Mlolwa (Voi), Aisha Jumwa (Malindi),  Khatib Mwashetani (Lunga Lunga), Paul Katana (Kaloleni), Sharif Ali (Lamu East) and Mohamed Ali of Nyali.

Coast Parliamentary Group chairman and Galole MP Said Hiribae also supported plan to form their own party.

Coast MPs Kilifi North MP Owen Baya
Share this story

More stories

Take a Break