Anti- graft agency summons 12 Nyandarua MCAs over alleged graft

EACC Chairperson ArchBishop (Rtd) Eliud Wabukala (left) and DCI Director George Kinoti at the KICC on October 07, 2020 during the launch of EACC national policy on ethics and anti-corruption. [Collins Kweyu, Standard]

The Ethics and Anti Corruption Commission has summoned 12 ward reps over alleged misappropriation of funds in the last two years.

This is the period that saw Speaker Ndegwa Wahome impeached and later reinstated by the courts.

Among those to appear before the agency are Salome Gathoni, Mary Wanjau, Loise Wanna, Jane Nyambura, Georgina Chira and Geoffrey Ngaruiya.

Others are Wanjiku Muhoho, Margaret Wanjiru, Joseph Kariuki, Wangari Methu and Jecinta Wangari.

According to EACC Central Regional Manager Abraham Kemboi, they are expected to explain how and why they received certain payments worth millions of shillings.

"It is true we have summoned them to explain how they got the payments from the assembly which they cannot account for. They will separately appear in our Nyeri offices," he said.

He said those who will be found guilty will face charges. 

"They have to account for every coin they received. The law must be followed," said Kemboi.

The MCAs are among those who supported the impeachment of Wahome and are believed to enjoy the support of Governor Francis Kimemia.