Three MPs retain seats in Taita Taveta County

Taveta MP-elect Naomi Shaban (right) is congratulated by businesswoman Eunice Christopher after she was declared winner of the 2017 parliamentary election. Photo Omondi Onyango, Standard

Three Members of Parliament from Taita Taveta County retained their seats in the just-concluded general election.

ODM party retained seats for Voi and Mwatate constituencies.

Wiper party won in Wundanyi constituency while Jubilee Party's Naomi Shaban retained the Taveta seat.

In Mwatate constituency, the incumbent ODM MP Andrew Mwadime comfortably retained his seat after beating Jubilee Party candidate Moris Mbondenyi. Mr Mwadime garnered 15,396 votes against Pro Mbonenyi's 7,937 votes.

In Voi constituency, ODM MP Jones Mlolwa beat his closest rival Dishon Mngoda of Jubilee Party. Mr Mlolwa trounced his closest rival with 18,115 against Mngoda's 15,554 votes.

In Wundanyi constituency, Wiper Democratic Movement candidate Danson Mwashako is the new MP.

The youthful politician garnered 8,247 votes to win the seat that was held by ODM Thomas Mwadeghu who opted to vie for governorship but lost. Jubilee Party candidate Simon Mwachia came second with 4,828 votes.

The contests in the county pitted the ruling coalition against NASA affiliate party's candidates.

There were celebrations all over the four constituencies after the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission's officials announced the results. 

Linturi tells Kenyans to replace ugali with rice and potatoes
Premium Why funding eludes Kenyan startups
Government to solve dollar shortage as forex reserves decline
Premium Investors now turn a profit in these former crime hotspots
The Standard
Subscribe for the KES1999 KES999 offer today!