Ruto's UDA clinches 11 parliamentary seats in Uhuru's home county

Limuru MP-elect John Kiragu celebrates at Limuru Sub-county tallying center. [George Njunge, Standard]

Deputy President William Ruto’s United Democratic Alliance (UDA) had won all parliamentary seats in Kiambu County going by the results that were received yesterday.

In President Uhuru Kenyatta’s backyard of Gatundu South, UDA’s Gabriel Kagombe was declared the MP after beating his five competitors.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Returning Officer Maurice Ligulu declared Kagombe the winner with 17,815 votes.

Two independent candidates, Kungu Kibathi and Geoffrey Njinji, emerged second and third with 15,417 and 14,886 votes, respectively.

Kiambu Deputy Governor Joyce Ngugi who ran on a Jubilee ticket managed 5,806 votes.

A total of 55,130 voters cast their ballots out of the 79,860 who are registered.

In Ruiru Constituency, incumbent Simon Kingara (UDA) retained his seat with 67,784 after beating Esther Gathogo (Jubilee) who garnered 27,583 votes.

Other candidates performed dismally with George Alan getting 3054 votes, Edwin Mungai (1183 votes), Solomon Muchiri (812 votes) Veronicah Mukami (779 votes), Daniel Chege (684 votes) and Francis Matete managing 213 votes.

A total of 102,095 voters cast their ballots out of 172,139 who are registered.

In Githunguri, the Kiambu Woman Representative Gathoni wa Muchomba (UDA) was declared the winner at St Joseph High School tallying centre after she garnered 34,646 votes against Jubilee’s Gabriel Kago who was a distant second with 31,127 votes.

Wamuchomba becomes the first woman MP for Githunguri.  She promised to fast track road expansion and promote milk, tea and coffee production.

“I have managed to break the jinx and for the first time Githunguri will be led by a woman which is not a mean achievement owing to the challenges I faced during the campaigns,” Wamuchomba said.

A total number of 71,357 votes were cast. The constituency has 104,592 registered voters and the turnout was 70 per cent.

In Kiambu Constituency, John Waithaka Machua (UDA) clinched the seat after trouncing 10 of his competitors. He got 26,399 votes against his close challenger Jude Njomo (Jubilee) who managed 23,240 votes.

Other candidates in the race included Joseph Thuo (2203), Jane Kihungi (1480), Mercy Mathai (635), John Wakio (391), Margaret Ndehi (588), David Ng’oi (179), Andrew Ranja (346), Joseph Uiru (802) and Joseph Njoroge (95).

In Juja, George Koimburi (UDA) was declared the winner. He garnered 39,413 votes to retain his seat after beating his close rival Aloise Kinyanjui of Jubilee who got 30,799 votes.

Joseph Kangethe, an independent candidate, was third with 8,588 votes.

In Gatundu North, Biashara Ward MCA Elijah Njoroge was declared the winner by the IEBC returning officer at St Francis Girls tallying centre.

He was an independent candidate and got 15,224 votes, beating his closest rival, Jubilee’s Wanjiku Kibe who polled 12, 282 votes. Wanjiku is the incumbent and UDA’s Francis Kigo garnered 11,716.

Former Lari MP Mburu Kahangara (UDA) made a comeback after he beat the incumbent, Jonah Mburu.

Kahangara got 26,702 votes while Mburu managed 16,931 votes.